

Distr.: General 10 November 2008

Original: English

**Sixty-third session** Agenda item 105 (c)

## Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments: confirmation of the appointment of members of the Investments Committee

## **Report of the Fifth Committee**

Rapporteur: Mr. Patrick Chuasoto (Philippines)

## I. Introduction

1. At its 2nd plenary meeting, on 19 September 2008, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the General Committee, decided to include in the agenda of its sixty-third session the item entitled "Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments: confirmation of the appointment of members of the Investments Committee".

2. At its 16th meeting, on 7 November 2008, the Fifth Committee had before it the following documents:

(a) Note by the Secretary-General concerning vacancies in the membership of the Investments Committee that would occur as a result of the expiration of the term of office of three of its members on 31 December 2008 (A/63/103);

(b) Note by the Secretary-General in which, in accordance with the provisions of article 20 of the Regulations of the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Fund, the Secretary-General, after consultation with the Standing Committee of the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Board and the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions, submitted for confirmation by the General Assembly the reappointment of three persons as members of the Investments Committee for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2009 (A/C.5/63/6).

3. At the same meeting, the Fifth Committee decided, by acclamation, to recommend to the General Assembly that it confirm the reappointment of Masakazu Arikawa (Japan), Madhav Dhar (India) and Nemir A. Kirdar (Iraq) as members of the Investments Committee for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January



2009 and to confirm the appointment of Linah K. Mohohlo (Botswana) to fill the remainder of the term of Khaya Ngqula (South Africa), effective 1 January 2009 and expiring on 31 December 2009 (see para. 5 below).

4. Also at the same meeting, the Committee decided, by acclamation, to recommend to the General Assembly that it confirm the reappointment of Ivan Pictet (Switzerland) as an ad hoc member for a one-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2009 and that of Simon Jiang (China) to replace, as an ad hoc member, Afsaneh Beschloss (Islamic Republic of Iran) beginning on 1 January 2009 (see para. 6 below).

## II. Recommendations of the Fifth Committee

5. The Fifth Committee recommends that the General Assembly confirm the reappointment by the Secretary-General of Masakazu Arikawa (Japan), Madhav Dhar (India) and Nemir A. Kirdar (Iraq) as members of the Investments Committee for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2009 and the appointment of Linah K. Mohohlo (Botswana) to fill the remainder of the term of Khaya Ngqula (South Africa), effective 1 January 2009 and expiring on 31 December 2009.

6. The Committee also recommends that the General Assembly reappoint Ivan Pictet (Switzerland) as an ad hoc member for a one-year term beginning on 1 January 2009 and Simon Jiang (China) as an ad hoc member to replace Afsaneh Beschloss (Islamic Republic of Iran) beginning on 1 January 2009.