

Distr.: General 4 August 2008

Original: English

Meeting of States parties to the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women

Fifteenth meeting

New York, 30 July 2008

Report of the meeting of States parties

- 1. The fifteenth meeting of States parties to the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women was called to order on 30 July 2008 by the representative of the Secretary-General, Craig Mokhiber, Deputy Director of the New York Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights, who acted as temporary Chairperson upon the request of the Chairperson of the fourteenth meeting of States parties, Andreas Mavroyiannis (Cyprus).
- 2. The representative of the Secretary-General made a statement in which he, inter alia, drew attention to the Convention-specific guidelines adopted by the Committee at its fortieth session (CEDAW/SP/2008/INF.1). Those guidelines are to be applied in conjunction with the guidelines on a common core document (HRI/GEN/2/Rev.5, chap. I).
- 3. Following the statement of the Deputy Director, Daniel Carmon (Israel) was elected Chairperson of the meeting. Soha Gendi (Egypt), Byrganym Aitimova (Kazakhstan), Sandra Paunksniené (Lithuania), and María Fernanda Espinosa (Ecuador) were elected Vice-Chairpersons. The provisional agenda (CEDAW/SP/2008/1) was adopted.
- 4. In accordance with article 17, paragraphs 4 and 5, of the Convention, the States parties elected by secret ballot 11 members of the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women, of whom three were current members proposed for re-election. The three current members were: Magalys Arocha Domínguez (Cuba), Silvia Pimentel (Brazil) and Xiaoqaio Zou (China). The new members were Nicole Ameline (France), Barbara Evelyn Bailey (Jamaica), Niklas Bruun (Finland), Indira Jaising (India), Soledad Murillo de la Vega (Spain), Victoria Popescu (Romania), Zohra Rasekh (Afghanistan) and Violet Tsisiga Awori (Kenya). The list of candidates and their curricula vitae are contained in documents CEDAW/SP/2008/3 and Corr.1 and Add.1. The members will serve a term of four years, from 1 January 2009 to 31 December 2012.



5. The meeting had before it document CEDAW/SP/2008/2 and Corr.1, containing information on declarations, reservations, objections and notifications of withdrawal of reservations relating to the Convention, submitted in accordance with article 28 of the Convention.

08-45000