United Nations  $E_{2008/9/Add.8}$ 



# **Economic and Social Council**

Distr.: General 19 February 2008

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2008

29 and 30 April 2008 Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

# **Election of six members of the Executive Board of the World Food Programme**

# Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Executive Board of the World Food Programme has 36 members, elected from among the States Members of the United Nations and the States members of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO). In accordance with General Assembly resolution 53/223 of 7 April 1999 and FAO Conference resolution 6/99 of 13 November 1999, the Economic and Social Council and the Council of FAO elect 18 members of the Executive Board each, according to the pattern set out in General Assembly resolution 53/223.
- 2. The Economic and Social Council is to elect, at its resumed organizational session for 2008, six members of the Executive Board for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2009 to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2008 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Indonesia, Japan, Mexico, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and Zimbabwe.
- 3. The six members are to be elected according to the following pattern: 1
  - One member from the States included in List A
  - One member from the States included in List B
  - One member from the States included in List C
  - Two members from the States included in List D
  - One member from the States included in List E

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The members are elected from lists set out in the Basic Texts of the World Food Programme. The lists are reproduced in annex III to the present note.



4. The 18 members of the Executive Board elected by the Economic and Social Council are listed in annex I to the present note. Annex II lists the members of the Executive Board elected by the FAO Council for the information of the Economic and Social Council. Annex III lists the States Members of the United Nations and member States of FAO for election to the Executive Board of the World Food Programme.

**2** 08-24406

# Annex I

# Eighteen members elected by the Economic and Social Council to the Executive Board of the World Food Programme

(Three-year term)

# Membership in 2008

#### Four seats for States on List A

Burundi (2010), Cape Verde (2009), Sudan (2010), Zimbabwe\* (2008)

#### Four seats for States on List B

India (2009), Indonesia\* (2008), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2009), Thailand (2010)

## Two seats for States on List C

Cuba (2010), Mexico\* (2008)

#### Six seats for States on List D

Australia (2010), Belgium (2009), Japan\* (2008), Norway (2010), Sweden (2009), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland\* (2008)

#### Two seats for States on List E

Russian Federation (2009), Ukraine\* (2008)

08-24406

<sup>\*</sup> Retiring member.

# Annex II

# Eighteen members elected by the Council of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations to the Executive Board of the World Food Programme

(Three-year term)

# Membership in 2008

#### Five seats for States on List A (four regular seats and one rotating seat)

Algeria (2008),<sup>a</sup> Democratic Republic of the Congo (2010), Guinea (2010), United Republic of Tanzania (2008 — rotating seat), Zambia (2009)

#### Three seats for States on List B

Kuwait (2010), Pakistan (2009), Philippines (2009)

#### Three seats for States on List C

Colombia (2008), Haiti (2010), Peru (2009)

#### Six seats for States on List D

Canada (2010), Finland (2008),<sup>b</sup> Italy (2008),<sup>c</sup> Germany (2010), Netherlands (2009), United States of America (2009)

#### One seat for States on List E

Slovenia (2008)

<sup>a</sup> Replaced the Sudan as of 1 January 2008.

**4** 08-24406

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>b</sup> Replaced Switzerland as of 1 January 2008.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>c</sup> Replaced Austria as of 1 January 2008.

## **Annex III**

# Lists of States Members of the United Nations and member States of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations for election to the Executive Board of the World Food Programme\*

## 1. Developing countries

#### List A

Algeria Ethiopia Niger
Angola Gabon Nigeria
Benin Gambia Rwanda

Botswana Ghana Sao Tome and Principe

Burkina Faso Guinea Senegal Burundi Guinea-Bissau Seychelles Cameroon Kenya Sierra Leone Lesotho Somalia Cape Verde Central African Republic Liberia South Africa Chad Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Sudan Madagascar Comoros Swaziland Congo Malawi Togo Côte d'Ivoire Mali Tunisia Democratic Republic of the Congo Mauritania Uganda

Djibouti Mauritius United Republic of Tanzania

Egypt Morocco Zambia Equatorial Guinea Mozambique Zimbabwe

Eritrea Namibia

### List B

#### Group I

Afghanistan Kuwait Syrian Arab Republic

Bahrain Kyrgyzstan Tajikistan
Iran (Islamic Republic of) Lebanon Turkmenistan

Iraq Oman United Arab Emirates

Jordan Qatar Uzbekistan Kazakhstan Saudi Arabia Yemen

08-24406

<sup>\*</sup> From appendix A to the General Regulations of the World Food Programme. In the event of a change in the membership of the United Nations or the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), the appropriate change will be made by the secretariats of the United Nations and FAO, respectively, after the necessary consultations with Member States.

# Group II

Bangladesh Malaysia Republic of Korea

Bhutan Maldives Samoa Brunei Darussalam Marshall Islands Singapore Cambodia Micronesia (Federated Solomon Islands China States of) Sri Lanka Cook Islands Mongolia Thailand Democratic People's Republic Myanmar Timor-Leste of the Korea Nauru Tonga Tuvalu Fiji Nepal

Vanuatu

Viet Nam

India Niue
Indonesia Pakistan
Kiribati Palau

Kiribati Palau

Lao People's Democratic Papua New Guinea

Republic Philippines

#### List C

Antigua and Barbuda Dominican Republic Paraguay
Argentina Ecuador Peru

Bahamas El Salvador Saint Kitts and Nevis

Barbados Grenada Saint Lucia

Belize Guatemala Saint Vincent and the Bolivia Guyana Grenadines

Brazil Haiti Suriname

Chile Honduras Trinidad and Tobago

Colombia Jamaica Uruguay

Costa Rica Mexico Venezuela (Bolivarian

Cuba Nicaragua Republic of)

Dominica Panama

# 2. Economically developed countries

#### List D

Iceland Andorra Norway Australia Ireland Portugal Austria Israel San Marino Belgium Italy Spain Canada Japan Sweden Liechtenstein Switzerland Cyprus Denmark Luxembourg Turkey

Finland Malta United Kingdom of Great
France Monaco Britain and Northern Ireland
Germany Netherlands United States of America

Greece New Zealand

6 08-24406

# List E

Albania Estonia Romania

Armenia Georgia Russian Federation

Azerbaijan Hungary Serbia
Belarus Latvia Slovakia
Bosnia and Herzegovina Lithuania Slovenia

Bulgaria Moldova The former Yugoslav Republic

Croatia Montenegro of Macedonia

Czech Republic Poland Ukraine

08-24406 **7**