United Nations E/2008/9/Add.9



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 14 February 2008

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2008

29 and 30 April 2008 Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of five members of the Programme Coordination Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS

Note by the Secretary-General

Addendum

- 1. The Programme Coordination Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS has 22 members. In accordance with its decision 1995/223, the Economic and Social Council, at its resumed organizational session for 2008, is to elect, from among States Members of the United Nations and observer States, five members of the Programme Coordination Board for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2009 to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2008 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Grenada, New Zealand and Thailand.
- 2. The five members are to be elected according to the following pattern:

One member from African States;

One member from Asian States;

One member from Latin American and Caribbean States;

Two members from Western European and other States.

3. The membership of the Programme Coordination Board in 2008 is listed in the annex to the present note.



Annex

Programme Coordination Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS

(22 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2008

Five members from African States

Democratic Republic of the Congo* (2008), Ethiopia (2010), Mauritania (2010), Senegal (2009), Zambia (2009)

Five members from Asian States

India (2010), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2010), Japan (2009), Myanmar (2009), Thailand* (2008)

Two members from Eastern European States

Russian Federation (2010), Slovakia (2009)

Three members from Latin American and Caribbean States

El Salvador (2009), Grenada* (2008), Guatemala (2010)

Seven members from Western European and other States

Denmark* (2008), Italy (2009), Luxembourg (2009), Monaco (2010), New Zealand* (2008), Switzerland (2009), United States of America (2010)

08-23996

^{*} Retiring member.