United Nations E/2008/9/Add.6



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 13 February 2008

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2008

29 and 30 April 2008 Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of 11 members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund

Note by the Secretary-General

Addendum

- 1. The Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund has 36 members, elected with due regard to equitable geographical representation and other relevant factors, with a view to ensuring the most effective and broadest representation.
- 2. In accordance with General Assembly resolution 48/162, the Council is to elect, at its resumed organizational session for 2008, 11 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations or members of the specialized agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2009, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2008 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Burkina Faso, Colombia, Finland, Guatemala, Norway, Pakistan, Republic of Korea, Rwanda, Serbia, Spain and United States of America.
- 3. The 11 members will be elected on the following basis:

Two members from African States;

Two members from Asian States;

One member from Eastern European States;

Two members from Latin American and Caribbean States;

Four members from Western European and other States.

4. The membership of the Executive Board in 2008 is listed in the annex to the present note.



Annex

Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund

(36 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2008

Eight members from African States

Burkina Faso* (2008), Cameroon (2009), Central African Republic (2009), Ethiopia (2009), Mali (2009), Mauritania (2009), Rwanda* (2008), Zimbabwe (2010)

Seven members from Asian States

China (2010), India (2009), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2010), Malaysia (2009), Myanmar (2009), Pakistan* (2008), Republic of Korea* (2008)

Four members from Eastern European States

Croatia (2009), Romania (2010), Russian Federation (2010), Serbia* (2008)

Five members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Antigua and Barbuda (2010), Bahamas (2009), Colombia* (2008), Guatemala* (2008), Haiti (2010)

Twelve members from Western European and other States

Australia (2010), Austria (2009), Finland* (2008), Germany (2009), Greece (2010), Japan (2010), Netherlands (2010), Norway* (2008), Spain* (2008), Sweden (2009), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2009), United States of America* (2008)

08-23841

^{*} Retiring member.