

Distr.: General 12 February 2008

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2008 29 and 30 April 2008 Agenda item 4 Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Nomination of 20 members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination

Note by the Secretary-General

Addendum

1. In accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 2008 (LX) and General Assembly decision 42/450, the Council is required to nominate 20 members for election by the Assembly at its sixty-third session to fill the vacancies in the Committee for Programme and Coordination that will occur on 31 December 2008 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Argentina, Armenia, Belarus, Benin, Brazil, Bulgaria, Central African Republic, Cuba, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Israel, Italy, Pakistan, Portugal, Senegal, South Africa, Switzerland and Uruguay, as well as a member from the Western European and other States group, whose seat remains vacant. The term of office is three years, beginning on 1 January 2009.

2. The Council is reminded that the General Assembly, in section III of its resolution 3392 (XXX) on the review of the intergovernmental and expert machinery dealing with the formulation, review and approval of programmes and budgets, encouraged Member States to be represented in the Committee for Programme and Coordination at an adequate level in order to raise the expertise of the Committee.

- 3. The vacancies are to be filled according to the following pattern:
 - Four members from African States;
 - Four members from Asian States;
 - Three members from Eastern European States;
 - Four members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
 - Five members from Western European and other States.
- 4. The membership of the Committee in 2008 is given in the annex to the present note.



Annex

Committee for Programme and Coordination

(34 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2008

Nine members from African States

Benin* (2008), Central African Republic* (2008), Comoros (2009), Kenya (2010), Libyan Arab Jamahiriya (2010), Niger (2010), Senegal* (2008), South Africa* (2008), Zimbabwe (2009)

Seven members from Asian States

Bangladesh (2010), China (2010), India* (2008), Indonesia* (2008), Iran (Islamic Republic of)* (2008), Pakistan* (2008), Republic of Korea (2010)

Four members from Eastern European States

Armenia* (2008), Belarus* (2008), Bulgaria* (2008), Russian Federation (2009)

Seven members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Argentina* (2008), Brazil* (2008), Cuba* (2008), Haiti (2009), Jamaica (2010), Uruguay* (2008), Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) (2009)

Seven members from Western European and other States^a

France (2009), Israel* (2008), Italy* (2008), Portugal* (2008), Switzerland* (2008)

^{*} Retiring member.

^a There are two vacancies in this group: one for a member whose term would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 2008 and one for a member whose term would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 2009.