

Distr.: General 6 November 2007

Original: English

Sixty-second session Agenda item 114 (b)

Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments: appointment of members of the Committee on Contributions

Report of the Fifth Committee

Rapporteur: Mr. Steven Ssenabulya Nkayivu (Uganda)

1. At its 3rd plenary meeting, on 21 September 2007, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the General Committee, decided to include in the agenda of its sixty-second session the item entitled "Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments: appointment of members of the Committee on Contributions" and to allocate it to the Fifth Committee.

2. At its 14th meeting, on 2 November, the Fifth Committee had before it the following documents:

(a) Note by the Secretary-General concerning the vacancies in the membership of the Committee on Contributions that would occur as a result of the expiration of the term of office of six of its members on 31 December 2007 (A/62/102/Rev.1);

(b) Note by the Secretary-General containing the names of six persons nominated by their respective Governments for appointment or reappointment to the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2008 (A/C.5/62/5 and Add.1).

3. At the same meeting, the Committee decided, by acclamation, to recommend to the General Assembly that it appoint or reappoint Joseph Acakpo-Satchivi (Benin), Abdelmalek Bouheddou (Algeria), Gordon Eckersley (Australia), Bernardo Greiver del Hoyo (Uruguay), Luis Mariano Hermosillo Sosa (Mexico) and Eduardo Manuel da Fonseca Fernandes Ramos (Portugal) as members of the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2008 (see para. 4 below).



Recommendation of the Fifth Committee

4. The Fifth Committee recommends that the General Assembly appoint or reappoint the following persons as members of the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2008:

Joseph Acakpo-Satchivi (Benin)

Abdelmalek Bouheddou (Algeria)

Gordon Eckersley (Australia)

Bernardo Greiver del Hoyo (Uruguay)

Luis Mariano Hermosillo Sosa (Mexico)

Eduardo Manuel da Fonseca Fernandes Ramos (Portugal)