

# **Summary of meetings**

Monday, 1 October 2007

1005<sup>th</sup> and 1006<sup>th</sup> Plenary meetings

## Opening of the session

The fifty-fourth session of the Board was opened by H.E. Mr. Arsene **Balihuta** (Uganda), President of the fifty-third session of the Board.

The Board agreed to the request by Estonia to become a member of the Board. The membership of the Board will now stand at 151.

#### Item 1 Procedural matters

#### (a) Election of officers

The Board elected by acclamation H.E. Mr. Petko **Draganov** (Bulgaria) as the President of the Board.

The Board elected the following 10 Vice-Presidents:

<b>Vice-Presidents</b>	H.E. Mr. Alberto <b>Dumont</b>	(Argentina)

H.E. Ms. Mabel Gomez Oliver (Mexico)
H.E. Mr. Roger Julien Menga (Congo)
H.E. Mr. Mohamed Siad-Douale (Djibouti)
H.E. Mr. Juan Antonio March (Spain)
H.E. Mr. Franciscos Verros (Greece)

Mr. Iouri **Afanassiev** (Russian Federation)

Ms. Lisa Carle (United States of America)

Mr. Chen Jianping (China)

Tenth vice-president to be announced

The Board elected Mr. Mohammad Ali Zarie Zare (Iran, Islamic Rep. of), as its Rapporteur.

Following established practice, the Board agreed that the Regional Coordinators and China, and the Chairmen of the Sessional Committees, would be fully associated with the work of the Bureau of the Board.

#### Item 1 (b) Adoption of the agenda and organization of the work of the session

The Board adopted its provisional agenda as contained in document TD/B/54/1.

#### Organization of work

In order to accommodate the suggestions made by delegations in the past, meetings of the session of the Board have been designed so that no two meetings take place at the same time. The Board approved the proposals for the organization of the work of the session and agreed that changes to the timetable would be reflected in the Daily Journal of the Board.

The Board established two Sessional Committees:

<u>Sessional Committee I</u> to consider and report on item 4 – Review of progress in the implementation of the Programme of Action for the Least Developed Countries for the Decade 2001-2010:

- (a) The Least Developed Countries Report 2007: Knowledge, Technological Learning and Innovation for Development.
- (b) UNCTAD-wide implementation activities in favour of LDCs: Sixth progress report.

The Board elected H.E. Mr. Juan Antonio March (Spain) as the Chairperson of Sessional Committee I.

<u>Sessional Committee II</u> to consider and report on Item 5 – Economic development in Africa: Reclaiming policy space: Domestic resource mobilization and developmental States.

The Chairperson of Sessional Committee II will be announced.

All the other items will be taken up in Plenary.

## **General statements**

Mr. Supachai Panitchpakdi, Secretary-General of UNCTAD, addressed the Board.

The following representatives made statements: Honduras (on behalf of the Group of 77 and China); Brazil (on behalf of GRULAC); Chad (on behalf of the African Group); Iran (on behalf of the Asian Group); Russian Federation (on behalf of Group D); Benin (on behalf of LDCs); Portugal (on behalf of the European Union); Thailand; China; South Africa; United States of America; Angola; Colombia; Pakistan; and India.

### Item 2 High-level segment: Globalization and inclusive development

The High-level segment began its consideration of item 2 with a statement by Mr. Supachai Panitchpakdi, Secretary-General of UNCTAD. This was followed by presentations from keynote speakers: The Right Honourable Ms. Kim Campbell, former Prime Minister of Canada and founding member of the Club of Madrid; Spain; the Honourable Joe Baidoe-Ansah; Minister of Trade, Industry, Private Sector Development and President's Special Initiatives of Ghana; Mr. Richard Samans, Managing Director, World Economic Forum, Switzerland.

The following representatives led the discussions: H.E. Mr. Alberto J. Dumont, Ambassador, Permanent Mission of Argentina, Geneva; H.E. Mr. Clodoaldo Hugueney, Ambassador, Permanent Mission of Brazil, Geneva; H.E. Mr. Kwabena Baah-Duodu, Ambassador, Permanent Mission of Ghana, Geneva; H.E. Mr. Rigoberto Gauto Vielman, Permanent Mission of Paraguay, Geneva; H.E. Mr. Fisseha Yimer,

Ambassador, Permanent Mission of Ethiopia, Geneva; H.E. Mr. Makio Miyagawa, Permanent Mission of Japan, Geneva; H.E. Mr. Arsene Balihuta, Ambassador, Permanent Mission of Uganda, Geneva; Mr. William E. Craft, Office Director, Multilateral Trade Affairs, Bureau of Economic Energy and Business Affairs, Department of State, United States of America.

The presentations were followed by an interactive debate.