

Meeting of States Parties

Distr.: General 15 March 2007

Original: English

Seventeenth Meeting

New York, 14 June and from 18 to 22 June 2007

List of candidates nominated by States parties for election to the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. Pursuant to article 2, paragraph 1, of annex II to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea ("the Convention"), the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf ("the Commission") shall consist of 21 members who shall be experts in the field of geology, geophysics or hydrography, elected by States parties to the Convention from among their nationals, having due regard to the need to ensure equitable geographical representation, who shall serve in their personal capacities.
- 2. In a note dated 5 December 2006, the Secretary-General invited States parties to submit, from 15 December 2006 to 14 March 2007, the names of candidates whom their Governments might wish to nominate for the election of members of the Commission, together with statements of qualifications of such candidates.
- 3. Article 2, paragraph 2, of annex II to the Convention provides that the Secretary-General shall prepare a list in alphabetical order of all persons thus nominated and shall submit it to all the States parties. The nominations submitted by States parties to the Secretary-General in reply to his request are set out in the annex to the present note.
- 4. The curricula vitae of the candidates will be circulated in document SPLOS/151.
- 5. The election of members of the Commission will take place on the first day of the seventeenth Meeting of States Parties, to be held at United Nations Headquarters on 14 June and from 18 to 22 June 2007. The procedures to be followed by the Meeting are set out in a note by the Secretary-General (SPLOS/149).

Annex

List of candidates

Name and nationality	Nominated by
Albuquerque, Alexandre Tagore Medeiros de (Brazil)	Brazil
Astiz, Osvaldo Pedro (Argentina)	Argentina
Awosika, Lawrence Folajimi (Nigeria)	Nigeria
Brekke, Harald (Norway)	Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden
Bricelj, Mitja (Slovenia)	Slovenia
Carrera Hurtado, Galo (Mexico)	Mexico
Charles, Francis L. (Trinidad and Tobago)	Trinidad and Tobago
Croker, Peter F. (Ireland)	Ireland
Danbooh, Khalil Ibrahim (Kuwait)	Kuwait
Fagoonee, Indurlall (Mauritius)	Mauritius
German, Mihai Silviu (Romania)	Romania
Jaafar, Abu Bakar (Malaysia)	Malaysia
Jaoshvili, George (Georgia)	Georgia
Kalngui, Emmanuel (Cameroon)	Cameroon
Kazmin, Yuri Borisovitch (Russian Federation)	Russian Federation
Lu, Wenzheng (China)	China
Oduro, Isaac Owusu (Ghana)	Ghana
Park, Yong-ahn (Republic of Korea)	Republic of Korea
Parson, Lindsay Murray (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Pimentel, Fernando Manuel Maia (Portugal)	Portugal
Rajan, Sivaramakrishnan (India)	India
Reichert, Christian Jürgen (Germany)	Germany
Rosette, Michael Anselme Marc (Seychelles)	Seychelles
Symonds, Philip Alexander (Australia)	Australia, Canada, New Zealand
Tamaki, Kensaku (Japan)	Japan
Woeledji, Yao Ubuènalè (Togo)	Togo

2 07-27179