





General Assembly

Distr. GENERAL

A/44/104 22 February 1989

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Forty-fourth session
Item 17 (d) of the preliminary list*

APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN SUBSIDIARY ORGANS AND OTHER APPOINTMENTS

Confirmation of the appointment of members of the Investments Committee

Note by the Secretary-General

1. Article 20 of the Regulations of the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Fund provides as follows:

"Article 20

"Investments Committee

"The Investments Committee shall consist of nine members appointed by the Secretary-General after consultation with the [United Nations Joint Staff Pension] Board and the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions, subject to confirmation by the General Assembly."

2. The present membership of the Committee is the following:

^{*} A/44/50.

Mr. Aloysio de Andrade Poria (Brazil)***

Mr. Jean Guyot (France)**

Mr. George Johnston (United States of America) **

Mr. Michiya Matsukawa (Japan)**

Mr. Braj Kumar Nehru (India) ***

Mr. Yves Oltramare (Switzerland)*

Mr. Emmanuel Noi Omaboe (Ghana)*

Mr. Stanislaw Raczkowski (Poland) ***

Mr. Juergen Reimnitz (Federal Republic of Germany)*

^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 1989.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 1990.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 1991.

^{3.} Since the terms of office of Mr. Oltramare, Mr. Omaboe and Mr. Reimnitz will expire on 31 December 1989, it will be necessary for the General Assembly at its forty-fourth session to confirm the appointment by the Secretary-General of three persons to fill these vacancies. The persons so confirmed will serve for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 1990.

^{4.} At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee submitted to the General Assembly a draft decision containing the names of the persons recommended for confirmation. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the forty-fourth session.