



# General Assembly

Distr. GENERAL

A/44/102 22 February 1989

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Forty-Yourth session
Item 17 (b) of the preliminary list\*

# APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN SUBSIDIARY ORGANS AND OTHER APPOINTMENTS

## Appointment of members of the Committee on Contributions

### Note by the Secretary-General

1. Rules 158 and 159 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly provide as follows:

#### "Rule 158

"The General Assembly shall appoint an expert Committee on Contributions consisting of eighteen members.

#### "Rule 159

"The members of the Committee on Contributions, no two of whom shall be nationals of the same State, shall be selected on the basis of broad geographical representation, personal qualifications and experience and shall serve for a period of three years corresponding to three calendar years. Members shall retire by rotation and shall be eligible for reappointment. The General Assembly shall appoint the members of the Committee on Contributions at the regular session immediately preceding the expiration of the term of office of the members or, in case of vacancies, at the next session."

<sup>\*</sup> A/44/50.

2. The present membership of the Committee is the following:

Mr. Kenshiroh Akimoto (Japan) \*\*\*

Mr. Amjad Ali (Pakistan) \*\*

Mr. Bagbeni Adeito Nzengeya (Zaire)\*

Mr. Ernesto Battisti (Italy) \*\*

Mr. Carlos Antonio Bivero Garcia (Venezuela)\*

Mr. Alain Catta (France) \*\*

Mr. Yuri A. Chulkov (Union of Soviet Socialist Republics) \*\*

Mr. John Fox (United States of America) \*\*\*

Mr. Ion Gorita (Romania) \*\*\*

Mr. Peter Gregg (Australia)\*

Mr. Elias M. C. Kazembe (Zambia) \*\*\*

Mr. V. G. Menon (Singapore)\*\*\*

Mr. Atilio Norberto Molteni (Argentina)\*

Mr. Carlos Moreira Garcia (Brazil) \*\*

Mr. Dimitri Rallis (Greece)\*

Mr. Omar Sirry (Egypt)\*

Mr. Wang Liansheng (China) \*\*

Mr. Assen Iliev Zlatanov (Bulgaria) \*\*\*

<sup>\*</sup> Torm of office expires on 31 December 1989.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 1990.

<sup>\*\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 1991.

<sup>3.</sup> Since the terms of office of Mr. Bagbeni, Mr. Bivero Garcia, Mr. Gregg, Mr. Molteni, Mr. Rallis and Mr. Sirry will expire on 31 December 1989, it will be necessary for the General Assembly at its forty-fourth session to appoint six persons to fill the resulting vacancies. The persons so appointed will serve for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 1990.

<sup>4.</sup> At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee submitted to the General Assembly a draft decision containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the forty-fourth session.