UNITED
NATIONS



Economic and Social Council

Distr. GENERAL

E/CN.4/Sub.2/AC.2/2006/2 21 June 2006

Original: ENGLISH

COMMISSION ON HUMAN RIGHTS

Sub-Commission on the Promotion and Protection of Human Rights* Working Group on Contemporary Forms of Slavery Thirty-first session 24-28 July 2006

REVIEW OF THE IMPLEMENTATION OF AND FOLLOW-UP TO THE CONVENTIONS ON SLAVERY

STATUS OF THE CONVENTIONS

Note by the Secretary-General

1. At 18 May 2006, the Supplementary Convention on the Abolition of Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Institutions and Practices Similar to Slavery had been ratified or acceded to by the following 119 States: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Central African Republic, Chile, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea, Haiti, Hungary, Iceland, India, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Lesotho, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Malta, Mauritania, Mauritius,

^{*} Pursuant to General Assembly resolution 60/251, all mandates, mechanisms, functions and responsibilities of the Commission on Human Rights will be assumed as of 19 June 2006 by the Human Rights Council, which will review them as appropriate.

Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia and Montenegro, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United Republic of Tanzania, United States of America, Uruguay, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

2. The Supplementary Convention had been signed but not yet ratified by El Salvador, Liberia and Peru.
