CMW/SP/SR 2 **United Nations**



Distr.: General 13 December 2005

Original: English

Meeting of the States Parties

Summary record of the 2nd meeting

Held at Headquarters, New York, on Thursday, 8 December 2005, at 10 a.m.

Temporary Chairman: Mr. Ndiaye (Representative of the Secretary-General)

Contents

Opening of the meeting by the representative of the Secretary-General

Election of the Chairperson

Adoption of the agenda

Election of other officers of the meeting

Election of five members of the Committee on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families to replace those whose terms of office will expire on 31 December 2005 in accordance with article 72, paragraphs 1 to 5, of the Convention

This record is subject to correction. Corrections should be sent under the signature of a member of the delegation concerned within one week of the date of publication to the Chief of the Official Records Editing Section, room DC2-750, 2 United Nations Plaza, and incorporated in a copy of the record.

Corrections will be issued after the end of the session, in a separate corrigendum for each Committee.

05-63237 (E)

The meeting was called to order at 10.25 a.m.

Opening of the meeting by the representative of the Secretary-General

- Mr. Ndiaye (Office of the High Commissioner 1. for Human Rights), speaking as the representative of the Secretary-General, said that, since the first Meeting in 2003, the number of States parties to the Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families had increased from 24 to 34. Although that increase in numbers was a matter of satisfaction, it was of concern that the States parties were mainly from three regional groups, and that no major receiving country had yet signed the Convention. Only when its membership was representative of all regions and included countries of origin, transit and destination could it be an effective instrument for the protection of the rights of all migrant workers and their families.
- 2. The Committee on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families had held its inaugural session in March 2004, adopting its rules of procedure. At its second session in April 2005 it had adopted provisional guidelines for the presentation of initial reports. Its third session would take place in December 2005, where it would begin preparations for the consideration for the first report presented under article 73 of the Convention, the report of Mali. It would also discuss its contribution to the High Level Dialogue on Migration and Development to be held by the General Assembly in 2006.
- 3. One of the core functions of the Committee was the consideration of reports by States parties. The Committee had received the initial reports of Mali and Mexico thus far; 25 other States parties were overdue in the presentation of their reports. In order to show that the Convention was a viable instrument, the Committee must demonstrate its relevance to the current situation of migrants, which could occur only through its application when considering reports. He therefore urged States parties to present their reports without delay in order to enhance the monitoring function of the Committee.
- 4. The Committee had begun its activities at a time when discussions of reform, streamlining and harmonization of the work of the human rights treaty bodies were high on the agenda. Under the High Commissioner's Plan of Action the possibility of the

creation of a unified treaty body which would replace the seven existing treaty bodies was being considered, with the aim of making the human rights treaty system more effective and at the same time to reduce the reporting burden on States. The Committee remained actively involved in those discussions.

Election of the Chairperson

- 5. **Mr. Diarra** (Mali) nominated Mr. Mekdad (Syrian Arab Republic) as Chairperson of the Meeting.
- 6. Mr. Mekdad (Syrian Arab Republic) was elected Chairperson of the Meeting of States Parties of the International Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families by acclamation.
- 7. Mr. Mekdad took the Chair.

Adoption of the agenda (CMW/SP/4)

- 8. The agenda was adopted.
- 9. **The Chairperson** drew attention to rules 2 and 3 of the rules of procedure (CMW/SP/3). Rule 2 provided that credentials of representatives and the names of members of delegations should be submitted to the Secretary-General not less than one week before the date of the opening of the Meeting. As he had yet to receive proper credentials from some of the States parties represented at the Meeting, he suggested that, in accordance with rule 3, the representatives of those States parties should be entitled provisionally to participate in the Meeting and urged them to submit their credentials as soon as possible.
- 10. It was so decided.

Election of other officers of the Meeting

11. Mr. Baali (Algeria) and Ms. Espindora (Ecuador) were elected Vice-Chairpersons.

Election of five members of the Committee on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families to replace those whose terms of office will expire on 31 December 2005 in accordance with article 72, paragraphs 1 to 5, of the Convention (CMW/SP/5 and Add.1)

12. **The Chairperson** invited the Meeting to elect five members of the Committee. The candidates

nominated by the States parties were contained in CMW/SP/5 and Add.1.

- 13. At the invitation of the Chairperson, Ms. Farfan (El Salvador) and Mr. Zoumanigui (Guinea) acted as tellers.
- 14. A vote was taken by secret ballot.

Number of ballot papers:	31
Number of valid ballot papers:	31
Number of representatives voting:	31
Required majority:	16
Number of votes obtained:	
Mr. Sevim (Turkey)	25
Ms. Dieguez Arevalo (Guatemala)	24
Mr. Kariyawasam (Sri Lanka)	24
Mr. Brillantes (Philippines)	18
Mr. Taghizade (Azerbaijan)	18
Ms. Al-Hajjaji (Libyan Arab	
Jamahiriya)	17
Mr. Gakwandi (Uganda)	11
Mr. Ouedraogo (Burkina Faso)	7
Mr. Davidovič (Bosnia and	
Herzegovina)	6

15. Having obtained the required majority and the largest number of votes, Mr. Brillantes (Philippines), Ms. Dieguez Arevalo (Guatemala), Mr. Kariyawasam (Sri Lanka), Mr. Sevim (Turkey) and Mr. Taghizade (Azerbaijan) were elected members of the Committee for a four-year term to begin 1 January 2006.

The meeting rose at 11.40 a.m.