

Distr.: General 13 March 2006

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2006 10 and 11 May 2006 Agenda item 4 **Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments**

Nomination of seven members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination

Note by the Secretary-General

Addendum

1. In accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 2008 (LX) and General Assembly decision 42/450, the Council is required to nominate seven members for election by the Assembly at its sixty-first session to fill the vacancies in the Committee for Programme and Coordination that will occur on 31 December 2006 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Bahamas, Comoros, France, Mexico, Russian Federation, United States of America, Zimbabwe. The term of office is three years, beginning on 1 January 2007.

2. The Council is reminded that the General Assembly, in section III of its resolution 3392 (XXX) on the review of the intergovernmental and expert machinery dealing with the formulation, review and approval of programmes and budgets, encouraged Member States to be represented in the Committee for Programme and Coordination at an adequate level in order to raise the level expertise of the Committee.

3. The vacancies are to be filled according to the following pattern:

Two members from African States;

One member from Eastern European States;

Two members from Latin American and Caribbean States;

Two members from Western European and other States.

4. The membership of the Committee in 2006 is given in the annex to the present note.

06-26968 (E) 200306 * 0626968*

Annex

Committee for Programme and Coordination

(34 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2006

Nine members from African States

Algeria (2007), Benin (2008), Central African Republic (2008), Comoros* (2006), Ghana (2007), Kenya (2007), Senegal (2008), South Africa (2008), Zimbabwe* (2006)

Seven members from Asian States

China (2007), India (2008), Indonesia (2008), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2008), Japan (2007), Pakistan (2008), Republic of Korea (2007)

Four members from Eastern European States

Armenia (2008), Belarus (2008), Bulgaria (2008), Russian Federation* (2006)

Seven members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Argentina (2008), Bahamas* (2006), Brazil (2008), Cuba (2008), Jamaica (2007), Mexico* (2006), Uruguay (2008)

Seven members from Western European and other States^a

France* (2006), Italy (2008), Portugal (2008), Switzerland (2008), United States of America* (2006)

^{*} Retiring member.

^a There are two vacancies in this group for members whose terms would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 2008. At its 2nd meeting, on 7 February 2006, the Council nominated Israel for election by the General Assembly to fill one of those vacancies.