

Distr.: General 22 February 2006

Original: English

Resumed organizational session of 2006 10 and 11 May 2006 Agenda item 4 Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

# Election of nine members of the Programme Coordination Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on Human Immunodeficiency Virus/ Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome

## Note by the Secretary-General

## Addendum

1. The Programme Coordination Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on Human Immunodeficiency Virus/Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (UNAIDS) has 22 members. In accordance with its decision 1995/223 of 5 May 1995, the Economic and Social Council is to elect, from among States Members of the United Nations as well as observer States, nine members of the Programme Coordination Board for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2007 to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2006 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Bahamas, Belgium, Cape Verde, China, Czech Republic, Italy, Japan, Swaziland and Sweden.

2. The nine members are to be elected according to the following pattern:

Two members from African States;

Two members from Asian States;

One member from Eastern European States;

One member from Latin American and Caribbean States;

Three members from Western European and other States.

3. The current membership of the Programme Coordination Board is given in the annex to the present note.

06-25139 (E) 270206 \* 0625139\*

## Annex

## Programme Coordination Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on Human Immunodeficiency Virus/Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome

(22 members; three-year term)

## Membership in 2006

#### **Five members from African States**

Cape Verde\* (2006), Democratic Republic of the Congo (2008), Kenya (2007), Libyan Arab Jamahiriya (2007), Swaziland\* (2006)

#### **Five members from Asian States**

China\* (2006), India (2007), Japan\* (2006), Nepal (2007), Thailand (2008)

### Two members from Eastern European States

Czech Republic\* (2006), Russian Federation (2007)

## Three members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Bahamas\* (2006), Brazil (2007), Grenada (2008)

#### Seven members from Western European and other States

Australia (2008), Belgium<sup>\*a</sup> (2006), Finland (2008), Germany (2007), Italy<sup>\*</sup> (2006), Sweden<sup>\*</sup> (2006), United States of America (2007)

<sup>\*</sup> Retiring member.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>a</sup> Elected on 7 February 2006 to replace the Netherlands, which resigned its seat as of that date.