

Distr.: General 13 February 2006

Original: English

Resumed organizational session of 2006 10 and 11 May 2006 Agenda item 4 Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of 14 members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/ United Nations Population Fund

Note by the Secretary-General

Addendum

1. The Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund has 36 members, elected with due regard to equitable geographical representation and other relevant factors, with a view to ensuring the most effective and broadest representation.

2. In accordance with General Assembly resolution 48/162, the Council is to elect, at its resumed organizational session for 2006, 14 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations or members of the specialized agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency for a three-year term, beginning on 1 January 2007, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2006 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Botswana, Cameroon, China, Congo, Cuba, Denmark, Eritrea, France, Gambia, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Netherlands, Poland, Sweden.

3. The 14 members are to be elected according to the following pattern:

Five members from African States;

Three members from Asian States;

One member from Eastern European States;

One member from Latin American and Caribbean States;

Four members from Western European and other States.

4. The current membership of the Executive Board is listed in the annex.

06-24127 (E) 150206 * 0624127*

Annex

Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund

(36 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2006

Eight members from African States

Algeria (2008), Benin (2008), Botswana* (2006), Cameroon* (2006), Congo* (2006), Eritrea* (2006), Gambia* (2006), Uganda (2007)

Seven members from Asian States

Bangladesh (2008), Democratic People's Republic of Korea (2007), China* (2006), Indonesia* (2006), Iran (Islamic Republic of)* (2006), Kazakhstan (2007), Pakistan (2008)

Four members from Eastern European States

Belarus (2007), Poland* (2006), Russian Federation (2008), Ukraine (2007)

Five members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Cuba* (2006), Ecuador (2008), Guatemala (2007), Guyana (2007), Jamaica (2008)

Twelve members from Western European and other States

Canada (2007), Denmark* (2006), France* (2006), Japan (2008), Netherlands* (2006), New Zealand (2008), Norway (2008), Portugal (2007), Sweden* (2006), Turkey (2007), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2008), United States of America (2007)

* Retiring member.