United Nations A/C.3/59/SR.55



Distr.: General 17 June 2005

Original: English

Third Committee

Summary record of the 55th meeting

Held at Headquarters, New York, on Monday, 13 June 2005, at 11.10 a.m.

Chairman: Mr. Kuchinsky (Ukraine)

Contents

Election of the Chairman and officers for the sixtieth session of the General Assembly

This record is subject to correction. Corrections should be sent under the signature of a member of the delegation concerned *within one week of the date of publication* to the Chief of the Official Records Editing Section, room DC2-750, 2 United Nations Plaza, and incorporated in a copy of the record.

Corrections will be issued after the end of the session, in a separate corrigendum for each Committee.

05-38169 (E)

The meeting was called to order at 11.10 a.m.

Election of the Chairman and officers for the sixtieth session of the General Assembly

- 1. **The Chairman** recalled that, in accordance with rule 99 (a) of the Rules of Procedure as amended by General Assembly resolution 56/509 as well as rule 103 as amended by General Assembly resolution 58/126, annex B, paragraph 9, all the Main Committees were required to elect a Chairman and a full bureau at least three months before the opening of the session.
- 2. Mr. Butagira (Uganda) had been nominated for election to the office of Chairman for the sixtieth session. In the absence of further nominations and in accordance with rule 103 of the Rules of Procedure, he would take it that the Committee wished to elect Mr. Butagira (Uganda) Chairman.
- 3. Mr. Butagira (Uganda) was elected Chairman by acclamation.
- 4. **The Chairman** said that the Group of Asian States, the Group of Eastern European States and the Group of Western European and other States had nominated respectively Ms. Ali (Syrian Arab Republic), Ms. Tomič (Slovenia) and Ms. Carvalho (Portugal) for the posts of Vice-Chairmen. The election of a Rapporteur from the Group of Latin American and Caribbean States would be held at a subsequent meeting of the Committee.
- 5. Ms. Ali (Syrian Arab Republic), Ms. Tomič (Slovenia) and Ms. Carvalho (Portugal) were elected Vice-Chairmen by acclamation.

The meeting rose at 11.20 a.m.