United Nations A/60/216

Distr.: General 11 August 2005

Original: English

Sixtieth session
Item 113 (a) of the provisional agenda*
Elections to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other elections

Election of 20 members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination

Note by the Secretary General

- 1. In accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 2008 (LX) and General Assembly decision 42/450, the members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination are nominated by the Economic and Social Council and elected by the General Assembly.
- 2. The membership of the Committee in 2005 is as follows:

Algeria,**** Argentina,** Armenia,** Bahamas,*** Benin,** Brazil,** Canada,** Central African Republic,** China,**** Comoros,*** Cuba,** France,*** Gabon,** Germany,** Ghana,**** India,** Indonesia,** Iran (Islamic Republic of),** Jamaica,**** Japan,**** Kenya,**** Mexico,*** Monaco,** Nicaragua,** Pakistan,** Republic of Korea,**** Republic of Moldova,** Russian Federation,*** South Africa,** Switzerland,** Ukraine,** United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland,** United States of America,*** and Zimbabwe.***

^{*} A/60/150.



^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 2005.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 2006.

^{****} Term of office expires on 31 December 2007.

^{3.} The General Assembly, at its sixtieth session, will, be called upon to elect 20 members, on the nomination of the Economic and Social Council, to fill the vacancies in the Committee that will occur on 31 December 2005 upon the expiration of the terms of office of the following members: Argentina, Armenia, Benin, Brazil, Canada, Central African Republic, Cuba, Gabon, Germany, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Monaco, Nicaragua, Pakistan, Republic of Moldova, South Africa, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

- 4. In accordance with General Assembly decision 42/450, the vacancies are to be filled as follows:
 - (a) Four members from African States;
 - (b) Four members from Asian States;
 - (c) Three members from Eastern European States;
 - (d) Four members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
 - (e) Five members from Western European and other States.
- 5. By its decisions 2005/201 C and 2005/201 E, the Economic and Social Council nominated the following Member States for election by the General Assembly at its sixtieth session for a term of three years beginning on 1 January 2006: Argentina, Armenia, Belarus, Benin, Brazil, Bulgaria, the Central African Republic, Cuba, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Italy, Pakistan, Portugal, Senegal, South Africa, Switzerland, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and Uruguay. Subsequently, the Council was informed that the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland had withdrawn as a nominee for election by the General Assembly.
- 6. The geographical distribution of the nominated Member States is as follows:
- (a) African States (four vacancies): Benin, Central African Republic, Senegal, South Africa;
- (b) Asian States (four vacancies): India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Pakistan;
 - (c) Eastern European States (three vacancies): Armenia, Belarus, Bulgaria;
- (d) Latin American and Caribbean States (four vacancies): Argentina, Brazil, Cuba, Uruguay;
- (e) Western European and other States (five vacancies): 1 Italy, Portugal, Switzerland.

2 05-45941

¹ The Council postponed the nomination of two members from Western European and other States for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2006 (decision 2005/201 E).