United Nations $E_{2005/9/Corr.1}$



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 1 April 2005

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2005

27 and 28 April 2005 Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of members of the functional commissions of the Council

Note by the Secretary-General

Corrigendum

Annex

For the existing text on the membership of the Commission on Population and Development substitute the text appearing overleaf.

Commission on Population and Development

(47 members; four-year term: membership of the thirty-eighth and thirty-ninth sessions (2005-2006))^a

Twelve members from African States

Botswana*(2006), Cameroon (2009), Comoros (2009), Democratic Republic of the Congo (2007), Gambia* (2006), Kenya (2008), Libyan Arab Jamahiriya (2008), Madagascar (2008), Mauritania (2007), Morocco (2009), Nigeria* (2006), Zambia* (2006)

Eleven members from Asian States

Bangladesh (2009), China* (2006), India* (2006), Indonesia (2009), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2007), Japan (2008), Lebanon* (2006), Malaysia (2009), Pakistan (2008), Philippines (2007), Thailand* (2006)

Five members from Eastern European States

Armenia (2008), Bulgaria (2009), Hungary (2007), Poland* (2006), Russian Federation* (2006)

Nine members from Latin American and Caribbean States^b

Bolivia (2007), Brazil (2009), El Salvador (2007), Guyana (2009), Jamaica* (2006), Mexico* (2006), Nicaragua* (2006), Peru (2009)

Ten members from Western European and other States

Belgium (2009), Canada (2009), France (2008), Germany (2009), Ireland* (2006), Luxembourg (2007), Netherlands (2008), Sweden* (2006), Switzerland (2009), United States of America* (2006)

Sixteen members are to be elected according to the following pattern:

Four members from African States;

Four members from Asian States;

Two members from Eastern European States;

Three members from Latin American and Caribbean States;

Three members from Western European and other States.

^{*} Retiring member.

^a In accordance with a decision taken on 31 March 2005, at its resumed organizational session for 2005, the Council will elect the 16 new members for a four-year term, beginning at the first meeting, in 2006 of the Commission's fortieth session and expiring at the close of the Commission's forty-third session in 2010.

^b There is one vacancy in this group for a member whose term would begin on the date of election and expire at the close of the forty-first session in 2008.