

Distr.: General 26 November 2004

Original: English

Commission for Social Development Forty-third session 9-18 February 2005 Item 4 (c) of the provisional agenda Programme questions and other matters: United Nations Research Institute for Social Development

Nomination of members of the Board of the United Nations Research Institute for Social Development

Note by the Secretary-General

1. The functions of the Board of the United Nations Research Institute for Social Development, which are set out in paragraph 3 of document ST/SGB/126 of 1 August 1963 and in its addenda, are:

(a) To lay down general rules governing the action of the Institute in matters entrusted to it;

(b) To review and approve work programmes and the relevant budgets of the Institute;

(c) To submit regularly to the Commission for Social Development a progress report on the work of the Institute.

2. The present composition of the Board is:

(a) A Chairperson, appointed by the Secretary-General;

(b) Ten members nominated by the Commission for Social Development and confirmed by the Economic and Social Council;

(c) A representative of the Secretary-General;

(d) A representative of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat;

(e) The Director of the Latin American and Caribbean Institute for Economic and Social Planning, Santiago;

(f) The Director of the Asian and Pacific Development Centre, Kuala Lumpur;

(g) The Director of the African Institute for Economic Development and Planning, Dakar;

(h) The Executive Secretary of the Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia;

(i) Representatives of two of the following specialized agencies, appointed in rotation: the International Labour Organization; the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations; the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization; and the World Health Organization;

(j) The Director of the United Nations Research Institute for Social Development, ex officio.

3. The 10 members of the Board referred to in subparagraph 2 (b) above are nominated by the Commission for Social Development and confirmed by the Economic and Social Council. The term of office of each nominated member is four years, renewable once for a further period of two years.¹

4. Emma Rothschild (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) has been Chairperson of the Board since 1999. The nominated members of the Board are:

- Sir Tony Atkinson (United Kingdom), Warden, Nuffield College, Oxford University
- Yakin Ertürk (Turkey), Professor, Department of Sociology, Middle East Technical University, Ankara
- Jean-Paul Fitoussi (France), Professor of Economics, Institut d'Etudes Politiques de Paris
- Anna Hedborg (Sweden), Director-General, National Social Insurance Board
- Elizabeth Jelin (Argentina), Senior Researcher, (CONICET) Consejo Nacional de Investigaciones Científicas y Técnicas, University of Buenos Aires
- Amina Mama (Nigeria), Professor, African Gender Institute, University of Cape Town, South Africa
- Marina Pavlova-Silvanskaya (Russian Federation), Editor, Pro et Contra, Moscow
- Adele Smith Simmons (United States), Vice-Chair, Chicago Metropolis 2020
- Salma Sobhan (Bangladesh), Human Rights Advocate, Ain O Salish Kendra, Dhaka
- Jomo Kwame Sundaram (Malaysia), Professor, Department of Applied Economics, University of Malaya

5. The term of office of the following four members will expire on 30 June 2005, and they are eligible for renomination for a further period of two years to 30 June 2007:

Tony Atkinson, Anna Hedborg, Amina Mama and Adele Smith Simmons

6. The term of office of Jean-Paul Fitoussi will expire on 30 June 2005. He will have served on the Board for four years.

7. Since Jomo Kwame Sundaram (Malaysia) has been appointed by the Secretary-General as Assistant Secretary-General in the Department of Economic and Social Affairs as of 1 January 2005, he will no longer be able to serve on the Board.

8. A further vacancy on the Board has arisen due to the death of Salma Sobhan in December 2003.

9. The Commission will therefore be called upon at its forty-third session to nominate three new members to the Board to replace those referred to in paragraphs 6, 7 and 8 above for a four-year term expiring on 30 June 2009. The Commission will also be called upon either to extend the term of office of each of the nominated members referred to in paragraph 5 above for an additional two-year term expiring on 30 June 2007. The biographical information of new candidates will be circulated as an addendum to the present note.

Notes

¹ In its resolution 10 (XXV), the Commission for Social Development decided that the term of office of each nominated member of the Board should not exceed a total of six years.