United Nations S/2004/990



Distr.: General 29 December 2004

Original: English

Report of the Secretary-General concerning the credentials of the representatives and deputy and alternate representatives of the members of the Security Council elected for the period 2005-2006

- 1. At its 32nd plenary meeting, on 15 October 2004, the General Assembly elected Argentina, Denmark, Greece, Japan and the United Republic of Tanzania as non-permanent members of the Security Council for a term of two years beginning on 1 January 2005.
- 2. Pursuant to rule 15 of the provisional rules of procedure of the Security Council, the Secretary-General wishes to report that, with regard to the representation of the members of the Council elected for the period 2005-2006, he has received the communications referred to hereunder.

Argentina: Credentials from the Minister for Foreign Affairs, International Trade and Worship of Argentina, signed on 26 October 2004, stating that Mr. César Mayoral has been appointed representative of Argentina on the Security Council, Mr. Alberto Pedro D'Alotto, deputy representative, and Mr. Gustavo Eduardo Ainchil, Ms. María Fabiana Loguzzo, Ms. Gabriela Martinic, Mr. Mateo Estremé, Mr. Guillermo Kendall, Mr. Marcelo Gabriel Suárez Salvia, Mr. Federico Alejandro Barttfeld, Ms. María Josefina Martínez Gramuglia and Mr. Alejandro Torres Lépori, alternate representatives.

In the opinion of the Secretary-General, these credentials are in order.

Denmark: Credentials from the Minister for Foreign Affairs of Denmark, signed on 26 November 2004, stating that Ms. Ellen Margrethe Løj has been appointed representative of Denmark on the Security Council, Mr. Lars Faaborg-Andersen, deputy representative, and Ms. Pernille Kardel and Mr. Michael Starbaek Christensen, alternate representatives.

In the opinion of the Secretary-General, these credentials are in order.

Greece: Credentials from the Minister for Foreign Affairs of Greece, signed on 8 December 2004, stating that Mr. Adamantios Th. Vassilakis has been appointed representative of Greece on the Security Council, Mr. Michael Daratzikis, Mrs. Alexandra Papadopoulou and Mrs. Maria Telalian, deputy representatives, and Mr. Ioannes Andreades, Mr. Vassilis Papadopoulos, Mrs. Eleftheria Yannakou, Mr. Georgios Koutsolelos and Mr. Nikolaos Pitsolis, alternate representatives.

In the opinion of the Secretary-General, these credentials are in order.

Japan: Credentials from the Minister for Foreign Affairs of Japan, signed on 14 December 2004, stating that Mr. Kenzo Oshima has been appointed representative of Japan on the Security Council, Mr. Shinichi Kitaoka, deputy representative, and Mr. Toshiro Ozawa, Mr. Koji Haneda, Mr. Takahisa Kawakami, Mr. Hiroshi Ishikawa and Mr. Hiroshi Matsuura, alternate representatives.

In the opinion of the Secretary-General, these credentials are in order.

United Republic of Tanzania: Credentials from the Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation of the United Republic of Tanzania, signed on 13 December, stating that Mr. Augustine P. Mahiga has been appointed representative of the United Republic of Tanzania on the Security Council, Mr. Tuvako N. Manongi, deputy representative, and Ms. Begam K. Taj, alternate representative.

In the opinion of the Secretary-General, these credentials are in order.

2