

Distr.: General 10 December 2004

Original: English

**Fifty-ninth session** Agenda item 3 (b)

## Credentials of representatives to the fifty-ninth session of the General Assembly

### **Report of the Credentials Committee**

Chairman: Mr. Nana Effah-Apenteng (Ghana)

1. At its 1st plenary meeting, on 14 September 2004, the General Assembly, in accordance with rule 28 of its rules of procedure, appointed a Credentials Committee for its fifty-ninth session consisting of the following Member States: Benin, Bhutan, China, Ghana, Liechtenstein, the Russian Federation, Trinidad and Tobago, the United States of America and Uruguay.

2. The Credentials Committee held its meeting on 10 December 2004.

3. Nana Effah-Apenteng (Ghana) was unanimously elected Chairman.

4. The Committee had before it a memorandum by the Secretary-General dated 10 December 2004 concerning the credentials of representatives of Member States to the fifty-ninth regular session of the General Assembly. The Legal Counsel made a statement updating the information contained in the memorandum of the Secretary-General.

5. As indicated in paragraph 1 of the memorandum of the Secretary-General, updated by the Legal Counsel, formal credentials in the form required by rule 27 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly had been submitted by the following 133 States: Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, the Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei Darussalam, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, the Central African Republic, Chile, China, Colombia, the Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, the Democratic People's Republic of Korea, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Djibouti, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, France, the Gambia, Germany, Guatemala, Guinea, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, the Islamic Republic of Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Lesotho, the Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia,

04-64265 (E) 131204 \* **0464265**\* Maldives, Mali, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, the Federated States of Micronesia, Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, the Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, the Republic of Korea, the Republic of Moldova, Romania, the Russian Federation, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Samoa, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Serbia and Montenegro, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, the Sudan, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, the Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, the United Arab Emirates, the United Republic of Tanzania, the United States of America, Uzbekistan, the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela, Viet Nam, Yemen and Zimbabwe.

6. As indicated in paragraph 2 of the Secretary-General's memorandum, as updated by the Legal Counsel, information concerning the appointment of their representatives to the fifty-ninth session of the General Assembly had been communicated to the Secretary-General, by means of a facsimile communication from the Head of State or Government or Minister for Foreign Affairs, or by means of a letter or note verbale from the Permanent Mission concerned, by the following 58 States: Afghanistan, Angola, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burundi, Cambodia, Chad, the Comoros, Dominica, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Eritrea, Estonia, Gabon, Georgia, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, India, Iraq, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Liberia, Lithuania, Mauritania, the Marshall Islands, Namibia, Nauru, the Niger, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Sao Tome and Principe, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Senegal, Seychelles, Solomon Islands, Somalia, Suriname, Tajikistan, Tuvalu, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Uruguay, Vanuatu and Zambia.

7. The Chairman then proposed the following draft resolution for adoption by the Committee:

#### "The Credentials Committee,

*"Having examined* the credentials of the representatives to the fifty-ninth session of the General Assembly of the Member States referred to in paragraphs 5 and 6 of the report of the Credentials Committee,

"[Taking into account the statements made during the debate,]

"Accepts the credentials of the representatives of the Member States concerned."

8. The draft resolution proposed by the Chairman was adopted without a vote.

9. The Chairman then proposed that the Committee recommend to the General Assembly the adoption of a draft resolution (see para. 11). The proposal was adopted without a vote.

10. In the light of the foregoing, the present report is submitted to the General Assembly.

## **Recommendation of the Credentials Committee**

11. The Credentials Committee recommends to the General Assembly the adoption of the following draft resolution:

# Credentials of representatives to the fifty-ninth session of the General Assembly

The General Assembly,

*Having considered* the report of the Credentials Committee and the recommendation contained therein,  $^1$ 

Approves the report of the Credentials Committee.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> A/59/602, para. 11.