

Distr.: General 18 October 2004

Original: English

Fifty-ninth session Agenda item 18 Election of judges of the International Tribunal for the Prosecution of Persons Responsible for Serious Violations of International Humanitarian Law Committed in the Territory of the Former Yugoslavia since 1991

Letter dated 14 October 2004 from the President of the Security Council to the President of the General Assembly

I have the honour to transmit the text of resolution 1567 (2004), adopted unanimously by the Security Council at its 5057th meeting, held on 14 October 2004.

Resolution 1567 (2004) reads as follows:

"The Security Council,

"*Recalling* its resolution 827 (1993) of 25 May 1993, 1166 (1998) of 13 May 1998, 1329 (2000) of 30 November 2000, 1411 (2002) of 17 May 2002, 1481 (2003) of 19 May 2003, 1503 (2003) of 28 August 2003 and 1534 (2004) of 26 March 2004,

"Having considered the nominations for Permanent Judges of the International Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia received by the Secretary-General,

"Forwards the following nominations to the General Assembly in accordance with Article 13 bis (1) (d) of the Statute of the International Tribunal:

Mr. Carmel A. Agius (Malta)

Mr. Jean-Claude Antonetti (France)

Mr. Iain Bonomy (United Kingdom)

Mr. Liu Daqun (China)

Mr. Mohamed Amin El-Abbassi El Mahdi (Egypt)

Mr. Elhagi Abdulkader Emberesh (Libyan Arab Jamahiriya)

Mr. Rigoberto Espinal Irias (Honduras)

04-55906 (E) 191004 * **0455906*** Mr. O-gon Kwon (Republic of Korea)
Mr. Theodor Meron (United States of America)
Mr. Bakone Melema Moloto (South Africa)
Ms. Prisca Matimba Nyambe (Zambia)
Mr. Alphonsus Martinus Maria Orie (Netherlands)
Mr. Kevin Horace Parker (Australia)
Mr. Fausto Pocar (Italy)
Mr. Yenyi Olungu (Democratic Republic of the Congo)
Mr. Sharada Prasad Pandit (Nepal)
Ms. Vonimbolana Rasoazanany (Madagascar)
Mr. Patrick Lipton Robinson (Jamaica)
Mr. Molamed Shahabuddeen (Guyana)
Ms. Christine Van den Wyngaert (Belgium)
Mr. Volodymyr A. Vassylenko (Ukraine)"

(*Signed*) Emyr **Jones Parry** President of the Security Council