United Nations E/2004/L.1/Add.12



# **Economic and Social Council**

Distr.: Limited 8 April 2004

Original: English

Resumed organizational session of 2004

4 and 5 May 2004 Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of eight members of the Programme Coordination Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on Human Immunodeficiency Virus/Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (UNAIDS)

## Note by the Secretary-General

#### Addendum

- 1. The Programme Coordination Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on Human Immunodeficiency Virus/Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (UNAIDS) has 22 members. In accordance with its decision 1995/223 of 5 May 1995, the Economic and Social Council is to elect, from among States Members of the United Nations as well as observer States, eight members of the Programme Coordination Board for a three-year term, beginning on 1 January 2005, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2004 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Brazil, Burundi, France, India, Kenya, Philippines, Russian Federation and Spain.
- 2. The eight members are to be elected according to the following pattern:

Two members from African States;

Two members from Asian States;

One member from Eastern European States;

One member from Latin American and Caribbean States;

Two members from Western European and other States.

3. The current membership of the Programme Coordination Board is given in the annex to the present note.

04-30509 (E) 140404



## **Annex**

## Programme Coordination Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on Human Immunodeficiency Virus/Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (UNAIDS)

(22 members; three-year term)

## Membership in 2004

#### **Five members from African States**

Burundi\* (2004), Cape Verde (2006), Côte d'Ivoire (2005), Kenya\* (2004), Swaziland (2006)

#### Five members from Asian States

China (2006), India\* (2004), Japan (2006), Myanmar (2005), Philippines\* (2004)

#### Two members from Eastern European States

Czech Republic (2006), Russian Federation\* (2004)

#### Three members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Bahamas (2006), Brazil\* (2004), Guatemala (2005)

#### Seven members from Western European and other States

Canada (2005), Denmark (2005), France\* (2004), Netherlands (2006), Spain\* (2004), Switzerland (2006), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2006)

2

<sup>\*</sup> Retiring member.