

Distr.: Limited 29 March 2004

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2004 4 and 5 May 2004 Agenda item 4 Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of eleven members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund

Note by the Secretary-General

1. The Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund has 36 members, elected with due regard to equitable geographical representation and other relevant factors, with a view to ensuring the most effective and broadest representation.

2. In accordance with General Assembly resolution 48/162 of 20 December 1993, the Council is to elect, at its resumed organizational session for 2004, 11 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations or members of the specialized agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2005, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2004 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: China, Ecuador, Jamaica, Japan, Lesotho, Nepal, Norway, Russian Federation, Slovenia, Spain and Switzerland.

3. The 11 members will be elected on the following basis:

One member from African States;

Two members from Asian States;

Two members from Eastern European States;

Two members from Latin American and Caribbean States;

Four members from Western European and other States.

4. The current membership of the Executive Board is given in the annex to the present note.



Annex

Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund

(36 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2004

Eight members from African States

Algeria (2006), Burundi (2006), Djibouti (2006), Eritrea (2005), Ghana (2005), Lesotho* (2004), Malawi (2006), Senegal (2006)

Seven members from Asian States

Bangladesh (2006), China* (2004), India (2005), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2005), Lebanon (2006), Myanmar (2006), Nepal* (2004)

Four members from Eastern European States

Belarus (2006), Republic of Moldova (2005), Russian Federation* (2004), Slovenia* (2004)

Five members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Ecuador* (2004), El Salvador (2006), Jamaica* (2004), Nicaragua (2005), Peru (2005)

Twelve members from Western European and other States

Austria (2006), Canada (2005), Denmark (2006), France (2005), Italy (2006), Japan* (2004), Norway* (2004), Spain* (2004), Sweden (2006), Switzerland* (2004), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2005), United States of America (2005)

* Retiring member.