

Distr.: General 27 January 2004

Original: English

Letter dated 19 January 2004 from the Permanent Representative of Ireland to the United Nations addressed to the Secretary-General

I have the honour to draw your attention to the following statement concerning Kazakhstan's moratorium on the death penalty (published in Rome on 23 December 2003) issued on 19 January 2004 by the Presidency on behalf of the European Union (see annex).

I would be grateful if the text of the present letter and its annex could be circulated as a document of the Security Council.

(Signed) Richard **Ryan** Permanent Representative of Ireland to the United Nations

04-22211 (E) 290104



Annex to the letter dated 19 January 2004 from the Permanent Representative of Ireland to the United Nations addressed to the Secretary-General

[Original: English and French]

Statement concerning Kazakhstan's moratorium on the death penalty (published in Rome on 23 December 2003) issued on 19 January 2004 by the Presidency on behalf of the European Union

The European Union welcomes the moratorium on the death penalty introduced in Kazakhstan by presidential decree on 18 December 2003. The European Union notes with satisfaction that this moratorium has taken immediate effect, and will stand until a decision is made on complete abolition of the death penalty in Kazakhstan.

The European Union considers that the abolition of the death penalty contributes to the enhancement of human dignity and the progressive development of human rights. It reaffirms its objective of working towards universal abolition of the death penalty and considers that the introduction of moratoria on executions is an important step towards that aim.

The European Union considers that the decision of President Nazarbayev represents a fundamental advance in the promotion of human rights in Kazakhstan and an important contribution towards the universal abolition of the death penalty. The European Union encourages the Government of Kazakhstan to continue its valuable cooperation with the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe in the democratic development of its country.

The acceding countries Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, the Slovak Republic and Slovenia, the associated countries Bulgaria, Romania and Turkey and the European Free Trade Association countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, align themselves with this statement.

2