

General Assembly Fifty-seventh session

89th plenary meeting Friday, 6 June 2003, 11.30 a.m. New York

The meeting was called to order at 11.40 a.m.

Announcement regarding the results of the election of the Chairmen of the Main Committees

The President: I should like to inform members that the following representatives have been elected Chairmen of the six Main Committees of the General Assembly for its fifty-eighth session and are accordingly members of the General Committee for that session:

First Committee, Mr. Jarmo Sareva (Finland);

Special Political and Decolonization Committee (Fourth Committee), Mr. Enrique Loedel (Uruguay);

Second Committee, Mr. Iftekhar Ahmed Chowdhury (Bangladesh);

Third Committee, Mr. Martin Belinga-Eboutou (Cameroon);

Fifth Committee, Mr. Hynek Kmoníček (Czech Republic);

Sixth Committee, Mr. Lauro Liboon Baja, Jr. (Philippines).

I congratulate the Chairmen of the Main Committees of the General Assembly for its fiftyeighth session on their election. Agenda item 6 (continued)

Election of the Vice-Presidents of the General Assembly

The President: In accordance with resolution 56/509 of 8 July 2002, we shall now proceed to the election of the Vice-Presidents of the General Assembly for its fifty-eighth session.

All members of the General Assembly are eligible in this election except those already represented in the General Committee, namely, those countries whose representatives have been elected to the presidency of the General Assembly or to the chairmanships of the Main Committees for the fiftyeighth session.

In accordance with paragraphs 2 and 3 of the annex to resolution 33/138, the 21 Vice-Presidents of the General Assembly for its fifty-eighth session shall be elected according to the following pattern: six representatives from African States; five representatives from Asian States; one representative from an Eastern European State; two representatives from Latin American and Caribbean States; two representatives from Western European and other States; and representatives of the five permanent members of Security Council.

03-38648 (E) * **0338648*** Official Records

This record contains the text of speeches delivered in English and of the interpretation of speeches delivered in the other languages. Corrections should be submitted to the original languages only. They should be incorporated in a copy of the record and sent under the signature of a member of the delegation concerned to the Chief of the Verbatim Reporting Service, room C-154A. Corrections will be issued after the end of the session in a consolidated corrigendum.

In accordance with paragraph 16 of annex VI to the rules of procedure, the election of the Vice-Presidents of the Assembly by secret ballot will be dispensed with when the number of candidates corresponds to the number of seats to be filled. We shall proceed accordingly.

I shall now read out the names of the endorsed candidates.

African States: Cape Verde, Equatorial Guinea, Madagascar, Malawi, Morocco and Senegal.

Asian States: the Islamic Republic of Iran, Myanmar, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Yemen.

Eastern European States: Slovenia.

Latin American and Caribbean States: Haiti and Honduras.

Western European and other States: Luxembourg and the Netherlands.

Since the number of candidates corresponds to the number of seats to be filled in each region, I declare those candidates elected, in addition to the representatives of the five permanent members of the Security Council.

The following States have thus been elected to vice-presidencies of the General Assembly for its fiftyeighth session: Cape Verde, China, Equatorial Guinea, France, Haiti, Honduras, the Islamic Republic of Iran, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Morocco, Myanmar, the Netherlands, the Russian Federation, Senegal, Slovenia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the United States of America and Yemen.

I wish to take this opportunity to congratulate the States which have been elected Vice-Presidents of the General Assembly for its fifty-eighth session.

With the Chairmen of the six Main Committees and the 21 Vice-Presidents elected for the fifty-eighth session of the General Assembly, the General Committee for the fifty-eighth session of the General Assembly has thus been fully constituted in accordance with rule 38 of the rules of procedure.

The meeting rose at 11.45 a.m.