

Distr.: Limited 24 March 2003

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2003 29 and 30 April 2003 Agenda item 4 Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

# Election of 14 members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund

## Note by the Secretary-General

1. The Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund has 36 members, elected with due regard to equitable geographical representation and other relevant factors, with a view to ensuring the most effective and broadest representation.

2. In accordance with General Assembly resolution 48/162 of 20 December 1993, the Council is to elect, at its resumed organizational session for 2003, 14 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations or members of the specialized agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2004 to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2003 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Bulgaria, China, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Ecuador, Finland, France, Gabon, Germany, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Mauritania, Mozambique, Philippines and Sweden.

3. The 14 members will be elected on the following basis:

Five members from African States;

Three members from Asian States;

One member from Eastern European States;

One member from Latin American and Caribbean States;

Four members from Western European and other States.

4. The current membership of the Executive Board is given in the annex below.

03-29373 (E) 260303 \* **0329373**\*

## Annex

## **Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund**

(36 members; three-year term)

### Membership in 2003

#### **Eight members from African States**

Cape Verde (2005), Comoros (2004), Democratic Republic of the Congo\* (2003), Djibouti\* (2003), Gabon\* (2003), Mauritania\* (2003), Mozambique\* (2003), Tunisia (2005)

#### Seven members from Asian States

China\* (2003), India (2005), Iran (Islamic Republic of)\* (2003), Nepal (2005), Pakistan (2004), Philippines\* (2003), Yemen (2004)

#### Four members from Eastern European States

Bulgaria\* (2003), Czech Republic (2004), Romania (2004), Russian Federation (2005)

#### Five members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Antigua and Barbuda (2004), Ecuador\* (2003), El Salvador (2005), Peru (2004), Uruguay (2005)

#### Twelve members from Western European and other States

Australia (2005), Canada (2004), Finland\* (2003), France\* (2003), Germany\* (2003), Italy (2005), Japan (2005), Norway (2005), Sweden\* (2003), Switzerland (2004), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2004), United States of America (2004)

\_\_\_\_\_\_

<sup>\*</sup> Retiring member.