United Nations E/2002/L.1/Add.18



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: Limited 23 April 2002

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2002

29 and 30 April 2002 Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Appointment of 24 experts to the Committee of Experts on Public Administration

Note by the Secretary-General

In accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 2001/45 of 20 December 2001, the Group of Experts on the United Nations Programme in Public Administration and Finance was renamed the Committee of Experts on Public Administration. Pursuant to that resolution, the Council is to consider the nomination of 24 experts by the Secretary-General who will serve on the Group in their personal capacity for a four-year term. For this election, the terms of office of the members would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 2005. Listed below are the names of seven persons nominated by the Secretary-General, together with their biographical information.

1. Atangana Mebara (Cameroon)

Mr. Mebara is Minister of Higher Education of Cameroon and President of the Council of Ministers of the African Committee. After the Congress in Athens in July 2001, he became President of the International Institute of Administrative Sciences. From 1988 to 1990, he was Director of Economic and Technical Cooperation of the Ministry of Planning. From 1991 to 1993, he was the Chief of the Division for Economic Affairs of the Office of the Prime Minister. From 1994 to 1997, he was Director of the Institute of Public Management of Cameroon. He has several publications to his credit, including: "Education, employment and salary in Cameroon", "The relation between education and employment: myth and reality" and "The privatization of the public service's monopolies".

2. Rachid Benmokhtar Benabdellah (Morocco)

On 25 June 1998, the late King Hassan II appointed Mr. Benabdellah President of Al Akhawayn University. Prior to that appointment, he was Minister of Education from 27 February 1995 to 15 March 1998. He is the holder of the Albert Einstein Medal for Education and Peace, Chevalier of the Ouissam Alaouite and Officer of

the Legion of Honour of the French Republic. He is the President of the Moroccan Foundation for Man and Nature. He is also a member of the World Bank Institute Advisory Council, member of the Maroc-Telecom Board of Trustees, member of the Advisory Group of the first Arab Regional Human Development Report of the United Nations Development Programme, and member of the Holcim (former CIOR) Board of Trustees.

3. Werner Jann (Germany)

Since 2001, Mr. Jann has been President of the European Group of Public Administration. Since 1993, he has been university professor and holder of the chair for political science, administration and organization at the University of Potsdam. His studies were in political science, mathematics and economics at the Freie Universität Berlin and the University of Edinburgh. He has been, inter alia, research fellow and assistant professor at the Postgraduate School of Administrative Sciences, Speyer; Congressional Fellow and Legislative Assistant in the House of Representatives, Washington, D.C.; research fellow at the University of California at Berkeley; and civil servant (director of the "Denkfrabrik" think-tank) in the Prime Minister's Office in Kiel (1989-1993). He has had publications in the field of comparative public policy and administration, administrative culture, modernization of the public sector and public governance.

4. Barbara Kudrycka (Poland)

Ms. Kudrycka is a Rector of the Bialystok School of Public Administration and Professor at the School of Law, Bialystok University, Poland. She holds a Ph.D (1985) and *venia legendi* (habilitation) (1995) in administrative law and public administration from Warsaw University, School of Law and Administration. Ms. Kudrycka is a member of the Steering Committee of the Network of the Institutes and Schools of Public Administration Central and Eastern Europe and Vice-President of the Polish Association of Public Administration Education. She has received awards from the British Council and the North Atlantic Treaty Organization. She was Chairperson of a special commission mandated to develop the civil service code of ethics in Poland, and Rapporteur of a Workshop on the theme "The changing position and status of civil servants" convened at the Twenty-fifth International Congress of Administrative Science.

5. Jose Oscar Monteiro (Mozambique)

A law graduate, Mr. Monteiro has a Master of Arts in African Studies, University of Paris I (Panthéon-Sorbonne), and has lectured in the Faculty of Law at the University Eduardo Mondlane. He set up the degree of public management at the same university, and is currently a Visiting Professor at the Graduate School of Public and Development Management, Faculty of Commerce Law and Management, University of Witwatersrand, Johannesburg. He advises the Ministry of Public Administration, the Ministry of Higher Education, Science and Technology and the Public Service Reform Unit, and currently chairs the Establishment Committee for the training system of higher education for civil servants in Mozambique. He has acted as Special Adviser to the Special Representative of the Secretary-General of the United Nations for the peace process in Mozambique, and chaired the Steering Committee of the first two national human development reports, Mozambique, 1999

and 2000, and the Steering Committee of the first UNDP regional Southern Africa report, 2000-2001.

6. Apolo Nsibambi (Uganda)

Mr. Nsibambi was appointed Prime Minister of Uganda and Leader of Business in April 1999. Before that, he was Minister of Education from May 1998 to April 1999 and Minister of Public Service from July 1998. He has also extensive experience in the academic sector: he has served as Dean of the Faculty of Social Science, Head of the Department of Political Science, Director of the Makerere Institute of Social Research and Professor of Political Science and Public Administration.

7. Volodymyr Yatsuba (Ukraine)

By presidential decree No. 377 of 30 May 2001, Mr. Yatsuba was appointed State Secretary of the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine. Before that, from December 1998 he was first Deputy Minister of the Cabinet of Ministers and first Deputy Government Secretary of the Cabinet of Ministers. In March 1995, he became first Deputy Head of the Administration of the President. In August 1994, he worked as Deputy Head of Territories Department in the Administration of the President. From 1990 to 1994, he was National Deputy of the Ukraine of the 12th convocation. In November 1990, he was elected the head of the Dnipropetrivsk City Council of National Deputies.

3