

Distr.: Limited 19 February 2002

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2002 29 and 30 April 2002 Agenda item 4 Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of 20 members of the Commission on Human Settlements

Note by the Secretary-General

1. Pursuant to General Assembly resolutions 32/162 of 19 December 1977, 40/202 of 17 December 1985 and 45/264 of 13 May 1991, the Economic and Social Council is to elect, at its resumed organizational session for 2002, 20 members of the Commission on Human Settlements, for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 2003, to fill the vacancies created by the expiration on 31 December 2002 of the terms of the following members: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Cameroon, Chile, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Finland, Gabon, Gambia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Japan, Lithuania, Mali, Pakistan, Russian Federation, Senegal, Turkey, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America and Viet Nam.

2. In accordance with paragraph 1 of section II of General Assembly resolution 32/162, the 20 members are to be elected on the following basis:

Six seats for African States;

Four seats for Asian States;

Two seats for Eastern European States;

Four seats for Latin American and Caribbean States;

Four seats for Western European and other States.

3. The membership of the Commission in 2002 is given in the annex below.



Annex

Commission on Human Settlements

(58 members; four-year term)

Membership in 2002

Sixteen seats for African States

Algeria (2003), Benin (2003), Cameroon* (2002), Democratic Republic of the Congo* (2002), Egypt (2004), Ethiopia (2004), Gabon* (2002), Gambia* (2002), Guinea (2004), Kenya (2003), Madagascar (2004), Mali* (2002), Morocco (2003), Senegal* (2002), Uganda (2003), United Republic of Tanzania (2004)

Thirteen seats for Asian States

Bangladesh (2004), China (2004), India (2003), Iran (Islamic Republic of)* (2002), Iraq (2004), Japan* (2002), Jordan (2003), Malaysia (2003), Pakistan* (2002), Philippines (2003), Sri Lanka (2003), United Arab Emirates (2004), Viet Nam* (2002)

Six seats for Eastern European States

Croatia (2003), Czech Republic (2003), Lithuania* (2002), Republic of Moldova (2004), Russian Federation* (2002), the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (2004)

Ten seats for Latin American and Caribbean States

Argentina* (2002), Barbados (2003), Bolivia* (2002), Brazil* (2002), Chile* (2002), Colombia (2003), Haiti (2004), Jamaica (2004), Mexico (2003), Trinidad and Tobago (2004)

Thirteen seats for Western European and other States

Austria (2004), Belgium (2004), Finland* (2002), France (2004), Germany (2003), Greece (2003), Italy (2004), Norway (2003), Spain (2003), Sweden (2004), Turkey* (2002), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland* (2002), United States of America* (2002)

* Retiring member.