United Nations E/ICEF/2002/3



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 1 February 2002

Original: English

UNITED NATIONS CHILDREN'S FUND Executive Board

EXECUTIVE BOARD MEMBERSHIP: COMPOSITION AND OFFICERS FOR 2002

I. COMPOSITION

The composition of the Executive Board for the period 1 January to 31 December 2002 is as follows:

Terms of office expiring on

31 December 2002	31 December 2003	31 December 2004
Australia Côte d'Ivoire Cuba Germany Guinea India Iran (Islamic Republic of) Italy Romania Trinidad and Tobago United States of America	Armenia Colombia Democratic Republic of the Congo Gabon Gambia Indonesia Japan Lao People's Democratic Republic Madagascar Morocco Norway Portugal Sweden Yemen	China Ecuador France Ireland Jamaica Lesotho Nepal Netherlands Russian Federation Slovenia Switzerland
Trinidad and Tobago	Republic Madagascar Morocco Norway Portugal Sweden	Slovenia

Executive Board membership by regional groupings in 2002

Africa (8) <u>Asia</u> (7) <u>Eastern Europe</u> (4)

Côte d'IvoireChinaArmeniaDemocratic Republic ofIndiaRomania

the Congo Indonesia Russian Federation

Gabon Iran (Islamic Republic of)
Gambia Lao People's Democratic

Guinea Republic
Lesotho Nepal

Lesotho Nepal Madagascar Yemen

Morocco

<u>Latin America and the Caribbean</u> (5) <u>Western Europe and Others</u> (12)

Ecuador Australia
Colombia France
Cuba Germany
Jamaica Ireland
Trinidad and Tobago Italy
Japan
Netherlands

Norway Portugal Sweden Switzerland

United States of America

Slovenia

II. OFFICERS

Executive Board

The Bureau of the Executive Board consists of a president and four vice-presidents representing the five regional groups. The composition of the Bureau of the Executive Board for the year 2002 is as follows:

President: H.E. Mr. Andrés Franco (Colombia)

Vice-Presidents: Mr. Olivier Chave (Switzerland)

H.E. Mr. Crispin Grey Johnson (Gambia) H.E. Mr. Murari Raj Sharma (Nepal) Mr. Marius Ioan Dragolea (Romania)

World Health Organization (WHO)/UNICEF/United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA) Coordinating Committee on Health

The UNICEF Executive Board membership on the WHO/UNICEF/UNFPA Coordinating Committee on Health for the 2001-2002 biennium (1 January 2001-31 December 2002) is as follows:

Dr. Alieu Gibril Gaye
H.E. Mr. Mohamed Al-Sindi

Yemen

Mr. Alexander Viktorovitch Karaulov Russian Federation

Ms. Sonia Felicity Elliot Guyana Mr. Jose Van Hussen Netherlands

Alternate

Dr. Yankuba Gassama Gambia Mr. Walid Ethary Yemen

<u>United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)/</u> <u>UNICEF Joint Committee on Education</u>

The UNICEF Executive Board membership on the UNESCO/UNICEF Joint Committee on Education for the 2001-2002 biennium (1 January 2001-31 December 2002) is as follows:

President, Executive Board Ex officio H.E. Mr. Andrés Franco Colombia

Mr. Salah Benyamna Morocco
Mr. Tian Xiaogang China
Dr. Ecaterina Andronescu Romania
Ms. Alma Viviana Pérez Colombia
Mr. Kaviraj Appadu Sweden

Alternate

Mrs. Habiba Bouazzaoui Morocco Dr. Radu Damian Romania
