United Nations A/56/629



Distr.: General 15 November 2001

English

Original: Spanish

#### Fifty-sixth session

Agenda item 17 (f)

# Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments

## **Appointment of members of the International Civil Service Commission**

### **Report of the Fifth Committee**

Rapporteur: Mr. Santiago Wins (Uruguay)

- 1. At its 3rd plenary meeting, on 19 September 2001, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the General Committee, decided to include in the agenda of its fifty-sixth session the item entitled "Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments: appointment of members of the International Civil Service Commission".
- 2. At its 22nd meeting, on 2 November 2001, the Fifth Committee had before it a note by the Secretary-General (A/56/106) concerning the vacancies in the membership of the International Civil Service Commission that would occur as a result of the expiration of the terms of office of five of its members on 31 December 2001.
- 3. The Fifth Committee also had before it a note by the Secretary-General (A/C.5/56/9) containing the names of persons nominated by their respective Governments for appointment or reappointment to the International Civil Service Commission, to fill the following vacancies: one seat for Asian States, one seat for Latin American and Caribbean States, and three seats for Western European and Other States.
- 4. At the same meeting, the Committee decided, by acclamation, to recommend the appointment of Minoru Endo (Japan), João Augusto de Medicis (Brazil), Mario Bettati (France), Lucretia F. Myers (United States of America) and Alexis Stephanou (Greece) as members of the International Civil Service Commission for a four-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2002 (see para. 5).



### **Recommendation of the Fifth Committee**

- 5. The Fifth Committee recommends that the General Assembly appoint the following persons as members of the International Civil Service Commission for a four-year term of office beginning 1 January 2002:
  - Mr. Minoru Endo (Japan)
  - Mr. João Augusto de Medicis (Brazil)
  - Mr. Mario Bettati (France)
  - Ms. Lucretia F. Myers (United States of America)
  - Mr. Alexis Stephanou (Greece)

2