UNITED NATIONS



Economic and Social Council

Distr. LIMITED

E/CN.4/2001/L.10/Add.7 23 April 2001

Original: ENGLISH

COMMISSION ON HUMAN RIGHTS Fifty-seventh session Agenda item 21 (b)

REPORT TO THE ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL COUNCIL ON THE FIFTY-SEVENTH SESSION OF THE COMMISSION

Draft report of the Commission

Rapporteur: Mr. Imtiaz HUSSAIN

CONTENTS*

Chapter

VII. THE RIGHT TO DEVELOPMENT

^{*} Documents E/CN.4/2001/L.10 and addenda will contain the chapters of the report relating to the organization of the session and the various items on the agenda. Resolutions and decisions adopted by the Commission, as well as draft resolutions and decisions for action by, and other matters of concern to, the Economic and Social Council, will be contained in documents E/CN.4/2001/L.11 and addenda.

VII. THE RIGHT TO DEVELOPMENT

- 1. The Commission considered agenda item 7 at its 15th to 17th meetings, on 27 March, and at its 62nd meeting, on 18 April 2001.
- 2. For the documents issued under agenda item 7, see annex VI to the present report. For a list of all resolutions and decisions adopted by the Commission and Chairperson's statements, by agenda item, see annex V.
- 3. At the 15th meeting, on 27 March 2001, the Chairperson-Rapporteur of the Open-Ended Working Group on the Right to Development, Mr. Mohammed-Salah Dembri, introduced the report of the working group on its first and second sessions (E/CN.4/2001/26).
- 4. Also at the 15th meeting, the independent expert on the right to development, Mr. Arjun Sengupta, made a statement.
- 5. In the general debate on agenda item 7, statements were made by members of the Commission, observers and representatives of non-governmental organizations. For a detailed list of speakers, see annex III to the present report.

The right to development

- 6. At the 62nd meeting, on 18 April 2001, the representative of South Africa introduced draft resolution E/CN.4/2001/L.15, sponsored by Mexico and South Africa (on behalf of the States Members of the United Nations that are members of the Movement of Non-Aligned Countries and China). Brazil, Burundi, Colombia, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Haiti, Nicaragua and Uruguay subsequently joined the sponsors.
- 7. Paragraphs 1, 10, 21 and 22 of the draft resolution were orally revised by the representative of South Africa.
- 8. A statement in connection with the draft resolution, as orally revised, was made by the representative of Belgium (on behalf of the European Union).
- 9. In accordance with rule 28 of the rules of procedure of the functional commissions of the Economic and Social Council, the attention of the Commission was drawn to the estimated administrative and programme budget implications of the draft resolution.
- 10. Statements in explanation of vote before the vote were made by the representatives of Canada, Japan, Norway, the Republic of Korea, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the United States of America.

11. The representative of Canada proposed that a separate vote be held to delete paragraph 10 of the draft resolution. At the request of the representative of South Africa, a roll-call vote was taken on the proposal of the representative of Canada, which was rejected by 45 votes to 4, with 4 abstentions. The voting was as follows:

In favour: Canada, Japan, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland,

United States of America.

Against: Algeria, Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Burundi, Cameroon, China,

Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of the

Congo, Ecuador, France, Germany, Guatemala, India, Indonesia, Italy,

Kenya, Latvia, Liberia, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Madagascar, Malaysia,

Mauritius, Mexico, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Portugal, Qatar,

Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, South Africa, Spain,

Swaziland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Uruguay, Venezuela,

Viet Nam, Zambia.

Abstaining: Norway, Poland, Republic of Korea, Romania.

12. The representative of Canada proposed that a separate vote be held to delete paragraph 21 of the draft resolution. At the request of the representative of South Africa, a roll-call vote was taken on the proposal of the representative of Canada, which was rejected by 43 votes to 6, with 4 abstentions. The voting was as follows:

In favour: Canada, Germany, Japan, Poland, United Kingdom of Great Britain and

Northern Ireland, United States of America.

Against: Algeria, Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Burundi, Cameroon, China,

Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of the

Congo, Ecuador, France, Guatemala, India, Indonesia, Italy, Kenya,

Liberia, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mauritius,

Mexico, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Portugal, Qatar,

Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, South Africa, Spain,

Swaziland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Uruguay, Venezuela,

Viet Nam, Zambia.

Abstaining: Latvia, Norway, Republic of Korea, Romania.

13. The representative of Canada proposed that a separate vote be held to delete paragraph 22 of the draft resolution. At the request of the representative of South Africa, a roll-call vote was taken on the proposal of the representative of Canada, which was rejected by 44 votes to 5, with 4 abstentions. The voting was as follows:

In favour: Canada, Japan, Poland, United Kingdom of Great Britain and

Northern Ireland, United States of America.

Against: Algeria, Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Burundi, Cameroon, China,

Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of the

Congo, Ecuador, France, Germany, Guatemala, India, Indonesia, Italy,

Kenya, Liberia, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Madagascar, Malaysia,

Mauritius, Mexico, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Portugal, Qatar,

Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, South Africa, Spain,

Swaziland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Uruguay, Venezuela,

Viet Nam, Zambia.

Abstaining: Latvia, Norway, Republic of Korea, Romania.

14. At the request of the representative of the United States of America, a roll-call vote was taken on draft resolution E/CN.4/2001/L.15 as a whole, as orally revised, which was adopted by 48 votes to 2, with 3 abstentions. The voting was as follows:

In favour: Algeria, Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Burundi, Cameroon, China,

Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of the

Congo, Ecuador, France, Germany, Guatemala, India, Indonesia, Italy,

Kenya, Latvia, Liberia, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Madagascar, Malaysia,

Mauritius, Mexico, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Peru, Poland,

Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Senegal,

South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand,

Uruguay, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Zambia.

Against: Japan, United States of America.

Abstaining: Canada, Republic of Korea, United Kingdom of Great Britain and

Northern Ireland.

15. For the text of the resolution as adopted, see chapter II, section A, resolution 2001/9.
