

Distr.: General 16 April 2001

Original: English

Fifty-sixth session Item 18 (h) of the preliminary list\* Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments: appointment of members of the Committee on Conferences

## **Appointment of members of the Committee on Conferences**

## Note by the Secretary-General

1. By its resolution 43/222 B of 21 December 1988, the General Assembly decided that the Committee on Conferences should be composed of 21 members to be appointed by the President of the Assembly, after consultations with the chairmen of the regional groups, for a period of three years, on the basis of the following geographical distribution:

- (a) Six members from African States;
- (b) Five members from Asian States;
- (c) Four members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
- (d) Two members from Eastern European States;
- (e) Four members from Western European and other States.

The Assembly further decided that one third of the Committee's membership should retire annually and that retiring members would be eligible for reappointment.

2. The present membership of the Committee on Conferences is the following:

Algeria*	Jamaica*	Peru***
Argentina***	Japan**	Philippines**
Austria*	Jordan*	Russian Federation**
Benin***	Kenya*	Sierra Leone***
Chile**	Kyrgyzstan***	United States of America*
Equatorial Guinea**	Lithuania***	
Finland***	Namibia**	
France **	Nepal*	

- \* Term of office expires on 31 December 2001.
- \*\* Term of offices expires on 31 December 2002.
- \*\*\* Term of office expires on 31 December 2003.

\* A/56/50.



3. Since the terms of office of Algeria, Austria, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Nepal and the United States of America will expire on 31 December 2001, it will be necessary for the President of the General Assembly at its fifty-sixth session to appoint seven members to fill the resulting vacancies. The members so appointed will serve for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 2002.