

Distr.: Limited 10 April 2001

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2001 3 and 4 May 2001 Agenda item 4 **Elections, nominations and confirmations**

Election of 11 members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund

Note by the Secretary-General

Addendum

1. The Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund has 36 members, elected with due regard to equitable geographical representation and other relevant factors with a view to ensuring the most effective and broadest representation.

2. In accordance with General Assembly resolution 48/162 of 20 December 1993, the Council is to elect, at its resumed organizational session for 2001, 11 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations or members of the specialized agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2002 to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2001 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Belarus, Canada, Cuba, Ethiopia, Guatemala, India, Italy, Kyrgyzstan, New Zealand, Ukraine and United States of America.

3. The 11 members will be elected on the following basis:

One member from African States;

Two members from Asian States;

Two members from Eastern European States;

Two members from Latin American and Caribbean States;

Four members from Western European and other States.

4. The current membership of the Executive Board is given in the annex to the present note.



Annex

Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund

(36 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2001

Eight members from African States

Democratic Republic of the Congo (2003), Djibouti (2003), Egypt (2002), Ethiopia* (2001), Gabon (2003), Mauritania (2003), Mozambique (2003), Togo (2002)

Seven members from Asian States

China (2003), India* (2001), Indonesia (2002), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2003), Kyrgyzstan* (2001), Philippines (2003), Viet Nam (2002)

Four members from Eastern European States

Belarus* (2001), Bulgaria (2003), Russian Federation (2002), Ukraine* (2001)

Five members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Brazil (2002), Cuba* (2001), Ecuador (2003), Guatemala* (2001), Honduras (2002)

Twelve members from Western European and other States

Belgium (2002), Canada* (2001), Denmark (2002), Finland (2003), France (2003), Germany (2003), Italy* (2001), Japan (2002), Netherlands (2002), New Zealand* (2001), Norway (2003), United States of America* (2001)

* Retiring member.