

UNITED NATIONS

GENERAL ASSEMBLY



Distr. GENERAL

A/33/122 30 May 1978

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Thirty-third session
Item lll (b) of the preliminary list*

APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN THE MEMBERSHIP
OF SUBSIDIARY ORGANS OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY

Committee on Contributions

Note by the Secretary-General

1. The rules of procedure of the General Assembly, as amended by resolution 31/96 of 14 December 1976, provide that:

"Rule 158

"The General Assembly shall appoint an expert Committee on Contributions consisting of eighteen members.

"Rule 159

"The members of the Committee on Contributions, no two of whom shall be nationals of the same State, shall be selected on the basis of broad geographical representation, personal qualifications and experience and shall serve for a period of three years corresponding to three financial years, as defined in the Financial Regulations of the United Nations. Members shall retire by rotation and shall be eligible for reappointment. The General Assembly shall appoint the members of the Committee on Contributions at the regular session immediately preceding the expiration of the term of office of the members or, in case of vacancies, at the next session."

2. The present membership of the Committee is as follows:

^{*} A/33/50/Rev.1.

```
Mr. Abdel Hamid Abdel-Ghani (Egypt) ***
Mr. Amjad Ali (Pakistan)*
Mr. Anatoly Semënovich Chistyakov (Union of Soviet Socialist Republics)*
Mr. Miguel A. Dávila Mendoza (Mexico)*
Mr. Talif El-Shibib (Irag)**
Mr. Leoncio Fernández Maroto (Spain)***
Mr. Carlos Moreira Garcia (Brazil)***
Mr. Gbadebo Oladeinde George (Nigeria) **
Mr. Richard V. Hennes (United States of America)**^
Mr. Junpei Kato (Japan)**
Mr. Japhet G. Kiti (Kenya)***
Mr. Wilfried Koschorreck (Federal Republic of Germany)*
Mr. Angus J. Matheson (Canada)***
Mr. Atilio Norberto Molteni (Argentina)***
Mr. Michel Rougé (France)*
Mr. Dragos Serbanescu (Romania)**
Mr. Euthimios Stoforopoulos (Greece)**
Mr. Tien Yi-nung (China)*
```

^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 1978.** Term of office expires on 31 December 1979.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 1980.

^{3.} At its thirtieth session, the General Assembly, by resolution 3393 A (XXX) of 20 November 1975, appointed Mr. Ali, Mr. Chistyakov, Mr. Dávila Mendoza, Mr. Rougé and Mr. Tien for three-year terms beginning on 1 January 1976. Further, at its thirty-first session the General Assembly, by resolution 31/198 B of 22 December 1976, appointed Mr. Koschorreck for a two-year term beginning 1 January 1977. Since the terms of office of these members of the Committee expire on 31 December 1978, it will be necessary for the General Assembly at its thirty-third session to appoint six persons to fill the resulting vacancies. The persons so appointed will serve for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 1979.

^{4.} At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee submitted to the General Assembly a draft decision containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the thirty-third session.