

Distr.: General 12 March 2001

Original: English

Note by the President of the Security Council

1. Pursuant to paragraph 4 (b) of the note by the President of the Security Council dated 30 October 1998 (S/1998/1016) and following consultations among the members of the Council, the members of the Council agreed to elect the Chairman and Vice-Chairmen of the Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1343 (2001) concerning Liberia:

Chairman: Mr. Kishore Mahbubani (Singapore) *Vice-Chairmen*: Ireland and Mauritius

2. The Bureau of the above-mentioned sanctions committee will be composed as above for a term ending on 31 December 2001.

