

Distr.: General 28 June 2000

Original: English

Fifty-fifth session Item 17 (g) of the preliminary list* **Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments**

Appointment of members of the International Civil Service Commission

Note by the Secretary-General

1. The International Civil Service Commission was established by the General Assembly (resolution 3357 (XXIX)) for the regulation and coordination of the conditions of service of the United Nations common system. It performs its functions in respect of the United Nations and of those specialized agencies and other international organizations which participate in the United Nations common system and which have accepted the Commission's statute.

2. Articles 2 to 4 of the statute of the Commission provide as follows:

"Article 2

"The Commission shall consist of fifteen members appointed by the General Assembly, of whom two, who shall be designated Chairman and Vice-Chairman respectively, shall serve full-time.

"Article 3

"1. The members of the Commission shall be appointed in their personal capacity as individuals of recognized competence who have had substantial experience of executive responsibility in public administration or related fields, particularly in personnel management.

"2. The members of the Commission, no two of whom shall be nationals of the same State, shall be selected with due regard for equitable geographical distribution.

"Article 4

"1. After appropriate consultations with Member States, with the executive heads of the other organizations and with staff representatives, the

* A/55/50.

Secretary-General, in his capacity as Chairman of the Administrative Committee on Coordination shall compile a list of candidates for appointment as Chairman, Vice-Chairman and members of the Commission and shall consult with the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions before consideration and decision by the General Assembly.

"2. In the same way, the names of candidates shall be submitted to the General Assembly to replace members whose terms of office have expired or who have resigned or otherwise ceased to be available."

3. Article 5 of the statute provides in part that "the members of the Commission shall be appointed by the General Assembly for a term of four years and may be reappointed".

4. The present membership of the Commission is as follows:

Mr. Mohsen Bel Hadj Amor (Tunisia)*** (Chairman) Mr. Eugeniusz Wyzner (Poland)*** (Vice-Chairman) Ms. Corazone Alma de Leon (Philippines)* Mr. Mario Bettati (France)** Mrs. Turkia Daddah (Mauritania)*** Mr. Alexei Fedotov (Russian Federation)* Mr. Humayun Kabir (Bangladesh)* Mr. Joao Augusto de Medicis (Brazil)** Mr. Jose Ramon Sanchis Munoz (Argentina)** Ms. Lucretia Myers (United States of America)** Mr. Ernest Rusita (Uganda)* Mr. Alexis Stephanou (Greece)** Mr. Wolfgang Stockl (Germany)*** Mr. Ku Tashiro (Japan)** Mr. El Hassane Zahid (Morocco)*

5. Since the terms of office of Ms. Alma de Leon, Mr. Fedotov, Mr. Kabir, Mr. Rusita and Mr. Zahid will expire on 31 December 2000, it will be necessary for the General Assembly at its fifty-fifth session to appoint five persons to fill the resulting vacancies. The persons so appointed will serve for a period of four years, beginning on 1 January 2001.

6. At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee submitted to the General Assembly a draft decision containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the fifty-fifth session.

^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 2000.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 2001.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 2002.