## **DOCUMENT A/CONF.62/84**

## Report of the Credentials Committee

[Original: English] [22 August 1979]

- 1. The Credentials Committee held its 11th meeting on 21 August 1979. Representatives of all the members of the Committee, except Chad, Ivory Coast and Japan, were present
- 2. The Committee had before it a memorandum by the Executive Secretary of the Conference, dated 20 August 1979, indicating that as of that date communications had been received concerning 138 States participating in the session.
- 3. For the purposes of the resumed eighth session, credentials in the form provided for by rule 3 of the rules of procedure had been submitted to the Executive Secretary by the following 102 States: Algeria, Angola, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belgium, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burma, Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic, Canada, Cape Verde, Chile, China, Czechoslovakia, Democratic Kampuchea, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Democratic Yemen, Denmark, El Salvador, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Germany, Federal Republic of, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Holy See, Honduras, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Japan, Kenya, Kuwait, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Mozambique, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Portugal, Republic of Korea, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Uganda, Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United Republic of Cameroon, United Republic of Tanzania, United States of America, Viet Nam, Yemen, Yugoslavia and Zaire.
- 4. The following eight States had submitted credentials which remained valid for the eighth session at Geneva, and the resumed eighth session in New York: Bahamas, Ethiopia, German Democratic Republic, Guyana, Hungary, Morocco, Poland and Uruguay.
- 5. The appointment of the representatives of the following 28 countries had been communicated to the Executive

- Secretary by letters, cables or notes verbales: Afghanistan, Albania, Argentina, Benin, Burundi, Central African Empire, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Cyprus, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Grenada, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Norway, Paraguay, Philippines, Qatar, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Tunisia, Upper Volta and Venezuela.
- 6. The Executive Seretary informed the Committee that, subsequent to the preparation of his memorandum, credentials in due form had been received from Guinea-Bissau and a cable had been received from Mauritius.
- 7. The Chairman proposed that, in the light of past practice, the Committee should accept the credentials referred to in paragraphs 3 and 4 above and that, as an exceptional measure and subject to later validation, it accept the communications referred to in paragraph 5 above in lieu of formal credentials.
- 8. The representative of Hungary recorded his delegation's objection to the acceptance of the credentials of the delegation of Democratic Kampuchea, stating that, in the view of the Hungarian delegation, these credentials were null and void.
- 9. The representative of China objected to the statement by the representative of Hungary, stating that, in the view of the Chinese delegation, the credentials of Democratic Kampuchea were valid.
- 10. The Chairman noted that the views and reservations expressed would be reflected in the report of the Committee. Subject to these views and reservations, summarized in paragraphs 8 and 9 above, the Committee decided to approve the following draft resolution.
  - "The Credentials Committee,
  - "Taking into account the views expressed during the debate;
  - "Accepts the formal credentials of the representatives that have been received;
- "Accepts, as an exceptional measure and subject to later validation, the communications referred to in paragraph 6 of the Executive Secretary's memorandum of 20 August 1979 in lieu of formal credentials."

## DOCUMENT A/CONF.62/85

Letter dated 20 August 1979 from the heads of the delegations of Chile, Colombia, Ecuador and Peru to the President of the Conference

Original: Spanish] [22 August 1979]

We have the honour to bring to your attention the text of the following official declaration by the Ministers for Foreign Affairs of Colombia, Ecuador, Chile and Peru issued on 18 August 1979:

"The Ministers for Foreign Affairs of Colombia, Ecuador, Chile and Peru, in the light of recent reports concerning instructions given to United States vessels and aircraft to defy the maritime jurisdiction of other States exercising sovereignty and jurisdiction beyond the three-mile limit, and in the light of official statements by the United States Government confirming such reports.

"Considering that, in the present state of development of the new law of the sea, it is unusual to attempt to deny the validity of the new provisions, whose initial and clearest expression is found in the Santiago Declaration on the Maritime Zone of 200 miles, which contains principles that represented a major and genuinely Latin American contribution to the discussions of the Third United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea, now in its eighth session.

"Have resolved to declare that they do not agree with those manifestations of a policy seemingly based on ag-