

Distr.: General 2 May 2000

Original: English

Fifty-fourth session Agenda item 17 (h) **Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments**

Appointment of members of the Joint Inspection Unit

Note by the President of the General Assembly

1. As indicated in paragraph 3 of the note by the Secretary-General of 4 November 1999 (A/54/108), the General Assembly is required, during its current session, to appoint four members of the Joint Inspection Unit to fill the vacancies that will arise from the expiration of the terms of office of Andrzej Abraszewski (Poland), John D. Fox (United States of America), Wolfgang M. Münch (Germany) and Louis-Dominique Ouédraogo (Burkina Faso) on 31 December 2000.

2. In accordance with the procedures described in article 3, paragraph 1, of the statute of the Joint Inspection Unit, the President of the General Assembly, having held the necessary consultations with the regional groups and on the basis of the candidate submitted by the Group of African States (see annex I), as well as through a consultation by secret ballot with the General Assembly, requested Austria, Burkina Faso, Germany and Romania to propose candidates.

3. The President of the General Assembly has held the consultations described in article 3, paragraph 2, of the statute of the Joint Inspection Unit, including consultations with the President of the Economic and Social Council and with the Secretary-General in his capacity as Chairman of the Administrative Committee on Coordination. The replies received from the President of the Council and from the Secretary-General to identical letters addressed to them on 14 January 2000 by the President of the Assembly are attached (see annexes II and III).

4. Having completed the required consultations, the President of the General Assembly has the honour to submit to the Assembly the following list of candidates for appointment as members of the Joint Inspection Unit for a five-year term beginning on 1 January 2001 and expiring on 31 December 2005:

Doris Bertrand-Muck (Austria) Ion Gorita (Romania) Wolfgang M. Münch (Germany) Louis-Dominique Ouédraogo (Burkina Faso)

00-41378 (E) 030500

Annex I

Letter dated 13 September 1999 from the Permanent Representative of Botswana to the United Nations addressed to the Under-Secretary-General for General Assembly Affairs and Conference Services

In my capacity as Chairman of the Group of African States for the month of September 1999, I have the honour to inform you that the candidature of Louis-Dominique Ouédraogo of Burkina Faso was endorsed for re-election in the Joint Inspection Unit.

> (Signed) Legwaila Joseph Legwaila Ambassador Permanent Representative of Botswana

Annex II

Letter dated 25 January 2000 from the President of the Economic and Social Council to the President of the General Assembly

I refer to your letter of 14 January 2000 in which you informed me that, in accordance with article 3, paragraph 1, of the statute of the Joint Inspection Unit, consultations have been held with regard to a list of proposed candidates to the Unit. I understand that the list consists of Austria, Burkina Faso, Germany and Romania.

I have reviewed the qualifications of the four candidates proposed by the above-mentioned States, namely:

Austria	Doris Bertrand-Muck
Burkina Faso	Louis-Dominique Ouédraogo
Germany	Wolfgang Münch
Romania	Ion Gorita

and fully endorse, in my capacity as the President of the Economic and Social Council, the four candidates.

(*Signed*) F. Paolo **Fulci** President of the Economic and Social Council

Annex III

Letter dated 31 March 2000 from the Secretary-General in his capacity as Chairman of the Administrative Committee on Coordination to the President of the General Assembly

I have the honour to refer to your letter of 14 January 2000 regarding the proposed appointments of Doris Bertrand-Muck, Ion Gorita, Wolfgang Münch and Louis-Dominique Ouédraogo as members of the Joint Inspection Unit.

In accordance with article 3, paragraph 2, of the statute of the Joint Inspection Unit, I have the pleasure to inform you that I concur, in my capacity as Chairman of the Administrative Committee on Coordination, with the appointments of Doris Bertrand-Muck, Ion Gorita, Wolfgang Münch and Louis-Dominique Ouédraogo beginning on 1 January 2001 and ending on 31 December 2005.

(Signed) Kofi A. Annan