

Distr.: General 7 April 2000

Original: English

Letter dated 4 April 2000 from the Chairman of the Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1267 (1999) concerning Afghanistan addressed to the President of the Security Council

I have the honour to transmit herewith a report of the Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1267 (1999) concerning Afghanistan, adopted by the Committee under the no-objection procedure on 4 April 2000. The report is being submitted in accordance with paragraph 10 of Security Council resolution 1267 (1999) of 15 October 1999.

(Signed) Arnoldo M. Listre Chairman Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1267 (1999) concerning Afghanistan

^{*} Reissued for technical reasons.

Annex

Report of the Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1267 (1999) concerning Afghanistan

On 15 October 1999 the Security Council adopted resolution 1267 (1999), by which the Council decided to impose the following measures against the Afghan faction known as the Taliban, which also calls itself the Islamic Emirate of Afghanistan:

"The Security Council,

•••

4. *Decides further* that, in order to enforce paragraph 2 above, all States shall:

(a) Deny permission for any aircraft to take off from or land in their territory if it is owned, leased or operated by or on behalf of the Taliban as designated by the Committee established by paragraph 6 below, unless the particular flight has been approved in advance by the Committee on the grounds of humanitarian need, including religious obligation such as the performance of the Hajj;

(b) Freeze funds and other financial resources, including funds derived or generated from property owned or controlled directly or indirectly by the Taliban, or by any undertaking owned or controlled by the Taliban, as designated by the Committee established by paragraph 6 below, and ensure that neither they nor any other funds or financial resources so designated are made available, by their nationals or by any persons within their territory, to or for the benefit of the Taliban or any undertaking owned or controlled, directly or indirectly, by the Taliban, except as may be authorized by the Committee on a case-by-case basis on the grounds of humanitarian need;"

By paragraph 3 of resolution 1267 (1999), the aforementioned measures came into force on 14 November 1999.

In accordance with paragraph 10 of resolution 1267 (1999), all States are requested to report to the Committee within 30 days of the coming into force of the measures imposed by paragraph 4 of the resolution on the steps they have taken with a view to effectively implementing paragraph 4.

As at 31 March 2000, replies received from 50 States were issued as documents of the Committee, as indicated below:

1.	Saudi Arabia	13 December 1999	S/AC.37/2000/1
2.	Bahrain	23 December 1999	S/AC.37/2000/2
3.	Uzbekistan	27 December 1999	S/AC.37/2000/3*
4.	Ukraine	30 December 1999	S/AC.37/2000/4
5.	Monaco	26 January 2000	S/AC.37/2000/5
6.	Turkey	27 January 2000	S/AC.37/2000/6
7.	Egypt	27 January 2000	S/AC.37/2000/7
8.	Greece	28 January 2000	S/AC.37/2000/8
9.	Slovakia	28 January 2000	S/AC.37/2000/9

10.	Pakistan	28 January 2000	S/AC.37/2000/10
11.	Islamic Republic of Iran	28 January 2000	S/AC.37/2000/11
12.	Republic of Moldova	28 January 2000	S/AC.37/2000/12
13.	Australia	31 January 2000	S/AC.37/2000/13
14.	Kazakhstan	1 February 2000	S/AC.37/2000/14
15.	Hungary	2 February 2000	S/AC.37/2000/15
16.	Brazil	3 February 2000	S/AC.37/2000/16
17.	Slovenia	3 February 2000	S/AC.37/2000/17
18.	Bangladesh	3 February 2000	S/AC.37/2000/18
19.	Canada	1 February 2000	S/AC.37/2000/19
20.	Malta	4 February 2000	S/AC.37/2000/21
21.	United States of America	8 February 2000	S/AC.37/2000/22
22.	Belgium	9 February 2000	S/AC.37/2000/23
23.	Spain	10 February 2000	S/AC.37/2000/24
24.	Jamaica	11 February 2000	S/AC.37/2000/25
25.	Liechtenstein	11 February 2000	S/AC.37/2000/26
26.	Norway	14 February 2000	S/AC.37/2000/27
27.	Romania	16 February 2000	S/AC.37/2000/28
28.	United Arab Emirates	16 February 2000	S/AC.37/2000/29
29.	Lithuania	19 January 2000	S/AC.37/2000/30
30.	Republic of Korea	18 February 2000	S/AC.37/2000/31
31.	Armenia	22 February 2000	S/AC.37/2000/32
32.	Japan	21 February 2000	S/AC.37/2000/33
33.	Netherlands	22 February 2000	S/AC.37/2000/34
34.	Peru	16 February 2000	S/AC.37/2000/35
35.	Sweden	24 February 2000	S/AC.37/2000/36
36.	Kyrgyzstan	25 February 2000	S/AC.37/2000/37
37.	India	29 February 2000	S/AC.37/2000/38
38.	United Kingdom of	2	
	Great Britain and		
	Northern Ireland	2 March 2000	S/AC.37/2000/39
39.	Italy	2 March 2000	S/AC.37/2000/40
40.	Finland	7 March 2000	S/AC.37/2000/41
41.	Sudan	22 February 2000	S/AC.37/2000/42
42.	Denmark	6 March 2000	S/AC.37/2000/43
43.	Thailand	9 March 2000	S/AC.37/2000/44
44.	Indonesia	29 February 2000	S/AC.37/2000/45
45.	Austria	9 March 2000	S/AC.37/2000/46
46.	Georgia	2 March 2000	S/AC.37/2000/47
47.	Israel	15 March 2000	S/AC.37/2000/48
48.	New Zealand	17 March 2000	S/AC.37/2000/49
49.	Belarus	20 March 2000	S/AC.37/2000/50
50.	Argentina	24 March 2000	S/AC.37/2000/51
	-		