United Nations $E_{2000/L.2/Add.7}$



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: Limited 8 March 2000

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2000

3 and 4 May 2000 Agenda item 4 Elections, nominations and confirmations

> Election of nine members of the Programme Coordination Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on Human Immunodeficiency Virus/Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (UNAIDS)

Note by the Secretary-General

Addendum

- 1. The Programme Coordination Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on Human Immunodeficiency Virus/Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (UNAIDS) has 22 members. In accordance with decision 1995/223 of 5 May 1995, the Economic and Social Council is to elect, from among States Members of the United Nations as well as observer States, nine members of the Programme Coordination Board for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2001 to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2000 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Algeria, Barbados, China, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Poland, South Africa and Sweden.
- 2. The five members are to be elected according to the following pattern:

Two members from African States;

Two members from Asian States;

One member from Eastern European States;

One member from Latin American and Caribbean States;

Three members from Western European and other States.

3. The current membership of the Programme Coordination Board is given in the annex to the present note.

00-33457 (E) 220300

Annex

Programme Coordination Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on Human Immunodeficiency Virus/Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (UNAIDS)

(22 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2000

Five members from African States

Algeria* (2000), Gabon (2001), Senegal (2002), South Africa* (2000), United Republic of Tanzania (2001)

Five members from Asian States

China* (2000), India (2001), Japan* (2000), Kyrgyzstan (2002), Philippines (2001)

Two members from Eastern European States

Poland* (2000), Russian Federation (2001)

Three members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Barbados* (2000), Brazil (2001), Mexico (2002)

Seven members from Western European and other States

Finland (2002), France (2001), Greece (2002), Italy* (2000), Luxembourg* (2000), Sweden* (2000), United States of America (2001)

2

^{*} Retiring member.