United Nations E/2000/L.2/Add.4



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: Limited 21 February 2000

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2000 3 and 4 May 2000

Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations and confirmations

Election of 14 members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund

Note by the Secretary-General

Addendum

- 1. The Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund has 36 members, elected with due regard to equitable geographical representation and other relevant factors, with a view to ensuring the most effective and broadest representation.
- 2. In accordance with General Assembly resolution 48/162 of 20 December 1993, the Council is to elect, at its resumed organizational session for 2000, 14 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations or members of the specialized agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2001, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2000 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Antigua and Barbuda, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Comoros, Congo, Finland, Japan, Kazakhstan, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, South Africa, Sudan, Sweden, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and Yemen.
- 3. The 14 members will be elected on the following basis:

Five members from African States;

Three members from Asian States;

One member from Eastern European States;

One member from Latin American and Caribbean States;

Four members from Western European and other States.

4. The current membership of the Executive Board is given in the annex to the present note.

00-30876 (E) 140300

Annex

Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund

(36 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2000

Eight members from African States

Comoros* (2000), Congo* (2000), Côte d'Ivoire (2002), Guinea (2002), Libyan Arab Jamahiriya* (2000), South Africa* (2000), Sudan* (2000), Zimbabwe (2001)

Seven members from Asian States

Bangladesh* (2000), China (2001), India (2002), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2002), Kazakhstan* (2000), Pakistan (2001), Yemen* (2000)

Four members from Eastern European States

Azerbaijan* (2000), Romania (2002), Russian Federation (2001), Ukraine (2001)

Five members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Antigua and Barbuda* (2000), Bolivia (2002), Guyana (2001), Paraguay (2001), Trinidad and Tobago (2002)

Twelve members from Western European and other States

Canada (2001), Denmark (2001), Finland* (2000), Greece (2002), Italy (2002), Japan* (2000), Netherlands (2001), Spain (2001), Sweden* (2000), Turkey (2002), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland* (2000), United States of America (2002)

2

^{*} Retiring member.