



General Assembly

Distr. GENERAL

A/37/755 11 February 1983

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Thirty-seventh session Agenda item 27

PREPARATION OF THE UNITED NATIONS CONFERENCE FOR THE PROMOTION OF INTERNATIONAL CO-OPERATION IN THE PEACEFUL USES OF NUCLEAR ENERGY

Appointment of a member of the Preparatory Committee for the United Nations Conference for the Promotion of International Co-operation in the Peaceful Uses of Nuclear Energy

Note by the Secretary-General

1. In paragraph 3 of resolution 35/112 of 5 December 1980, the General Assembly decided to establish a Preparatory Committee for the United Nations Conference for the Promotion of International Co-operation in the Peaceful Uses of Nuclear Energy, composed of 70 Member States and, on an equal footing, other Member States which might express their interest in participating in the work of the Committee, and requested the President of the Assembly to appoint the members of the Committee, in accordance with the principle of equitable geographical representation, not later than 1 July 1981. On the basis of nominations from regional groups, the President of the thirty-fifth session of the General Assembly appointed 58 members to the Committee (see A/35/805 and Add.1 and 2).

2. In paragraph 7 of its resolution 36/78 of 9 December 1981, the General Assembly requested the President of the Assembly to finalize the appointment of the members of the Preparatory Committee. On the basis of nominations from regional groups, the President of the thirty-sixth session of the General Assembly appointed six additional members to the Committee (see A/36/880), whose membership thus reached 64.

3. On ll February 1983, the President of the thirty-seventh session of the General Assembly informed the Secretary-General that, on the basis of a nomination from the Asian Group, he had appointed Saudi Arabia as a member of the Preparatory Committee.

A/37/755 English Page 2

4. As a result, the Preparatory Committee is composed of the following 65 Member States:

Algeria Argentina Australia Austria Belgium Brazil Bulgaria Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic Canada Chile China Colombia Costa Rica Cuba Czechoslovakia Denmark Ecuador Egypt Finland France German Democratic Republic Germany, Federal Republic of Ghana Greece Guatemala Hungary India Indonesia Iraq Ireland Italy Ivory Coast Japan

Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Malaysia Mauritania Mexico Morocco Netherlands Niger Nigeria Norway Pakistan Peru Philippines Poland Romania Saudi Arabia Senegal Spain Sri Lanka Sweden Syrian Arab Republic Thailand Turkey Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic Union of Soviet Socialist Republics United Arab Emirates United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland United Republic of Cameroon United States of America Uruguay Venezuela Yugoslavia Zaire