United Nations A/54/730



Distr.: General 31 January 2000

Original: English

Fifty-fourth session

Agenda item 125

Scale of assessments for the apportionment of the expenses of the United Nations

Letter dated 31 January 2000 from the Secretary-General to the President of the General Assembly

- 1. At present, 52 Member States are in arrears under the terms of Article 19 of the Charter of the United Nations, which states as follows:
 - "A Member of the United Nations which is in arrears in the payment of its financial contributions to the Organization shall have no vote in the General Assembly if the amount of its arrears equals or exceeds the amount of the contributions due from it for the preceding two full years. The General Assembly may, nevertheless, permit such a Member to vote if it is satisfied that the failure to pay is due to conditions beyond the control of the Member."
- 2. The minimum payments necessary to reduce the amounts owed by those Member States on their contributions so that they remain below the gross amount assessed for the preceding two full years (1998-1999) are the following:

	United States dollars
Afghanistan	134 200.00
Antigua and Barbuda	33 500.00
Belize	78 876.00
Bosnia and Herzegovina a	184 782.00
Burkina Faso	96 500.00
Burundi	246 800.00
Cape Verde	130 900.00
Central African Republic	260 700.00
Chad	34 700.00
Comoros a	766 500.00
Congo ^b	463 612.23

	United States dollars
Democratic People's Republic of Korea	383 200.00
Djibouti	139 100.00
Dominica	112 293.00
Ecuador	185 959.04
Equatorial Guinea	70 290.96
Gambia	139 300.00
Georgia ^c	6 041 100.00
Grenada	82 658.00
Guinea	84 100.00
Guinea-Bissau ^b	412 800.00
Guyana	24 697.10
Haiti	17 741.00
Honduras	126 600.00
Iraq	11 134 000.00
Kyrgyzstan	786 392.21
Latvia	22 533.00
Liberia	1 088 500.00
Madagascar	126 346.56
Mali	34 000.00
Marshall Islands	51 781.00
Mauritania	164 581.00
Mongolia	61 214.00
Nicaragua ^b	198 824.00
Niger	279 200.00
Republic of Moldova	2 469 600.00
Rwanda	60 806.99
Saint Lucia	33 000.00
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines	114 981.00
Sao Tome and Principe	543 200.00
Seychelles	137 500.00
Sierra Leone	135 600.00
Somalia	944 600.00
Sudan	22 500.00
Tajikistan ^a	2 242 600.00
Togo	103 600.00
Turkmenistan	339 473.00
Ukraine	15 035 154.91

	United States dollars
Uzbekistan	1 245 400.00
Vanuatu	234 500.00
Yemen	115 300.00
Yugoslavia	14 109 200.00

- ^a By its resolution 53/36 F of 28 July 1999, the General Assembly decided that Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Comoros and Tajikistan would be permitted to vote in the Assembly until 30 June 2000
- ^b By its decision 53/406 C of 7 April 1999, the General Assembly also decided that the Congo, Guinea-Bissau and Nicaragua would be permitted to vote in the Assembly until 30 June 2000.
- ^c By its decision 54/455 A of 23 December 1999, the General Assembly decided that Georgia would be permitted to vote under Article 19 of the Charter until 30 June 2000.

(Signed) Kofi Annan Secretary-General