



Distr.: General 12 June 2024

Original: English

## **Third Committee**

Summary record of the 57th meeting Held at Headquarters, New York, on Thursday, 6 June 2024, at 4.50 p.m.

## Contents

Agenda item 5: Election of the officers of the Main Committees

This record is subject to correction.

Corrections should be sent as soon as possible, under the signature of a member of the delegation concerned, to the Chief of the Documents Management Section (dms@un.org), and incorporated in a copy of the record.

Corrected records will be reissued electronically on the Official Document System of the United Nations (http://documents.un.org/).





Please recycle 🗸

The meeting was called to order at 4.50 p.m.

## Agenda item 5: Election of the officers of the Main Committees

1. **The Chair** said that, in accordance with rule 99 (a) of the rules of procedure, the meeting had been convened for the purpose of electing the Chair and other officers of the Bureau of the Committee for the seventy-ninth session of the General Assembly.

2. The nomination of Mr. Maniratanga (Burundi) for the post of Chair had been endorsed by the Group of African States. In the absence of further nominations, and in accordance with rule 103 of the rules of procedure, he would take it that the Committee wished to elect Mr. Maniratanga (Burundi) Chair.

3. *Mr. Maniratanga (Burundi) was elected Chair by acclamation.* 

4. **The Chair** said that, in accordance with rule 103 of the rules of procedure, the nominations of Ms. Abd Karim (Malaysia), Ms. Lortkipanidze (Georgia) and Ms. Sorto Rosales (El Salvador) had been endorsed by the Group of Asia-Pacific States, the Group of Eastern European States and the Group of Latin American and Caribbean States, respectively, for the three posts of Vice-Chair, and that the nomination of Mr. Reichwein (Kingdom of the Netherlands) for the post of Rapporteur had been endorsed by the Group of Western European and Other States.

5. Ms. Abd Karim (Malaysia), Ms. Lortkipanidze (Georgia) and Ms. Sorto Rosales (El Salvador) were elected Vice-Chairs, and Mr. Reichwein (Kingdom of the Netherlands) was elected Rapporteur, by acclamation.

The meeting rose at 4.55 p.m.