

Distr.: General 28 June 2024

Original: English

## Letter dated 14 June 2024 from the Secretary-General addressed to the President of the Security Council

I have the honour to refer to Security Council resolution 1966 (2010), adopted on 22 December 2010, by which the Council established the International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals and, in particular, the appointment of the judges, the President and the Prosecutor of the Mechanism.

I recall that, under paragraph 17 of resolution 1966 (2010), the Security Council decided that the Mechanism would operate for an initial period of four years, as from 1 July 2012. The Council also decided to review the progress of the work of the Mechanism, including in carrying out the functions assigned to it, before the end of that initial period and every two years thereafter. The Council further decided that the Mechanism would continue to operate for subsequent periods of two years following each such review, unless the Council decided otherwise.

The terms of office of the current judges, the President and the Prosecutor will expire on 30 June 2024.

In accordance with the provisions of article 8 of the statute of the Mechanism, which is set out in annex 1 to resolution 1966 (2010), the Mechanism is to have a roster of 25 independent judges, not more than 2 of whom may be nationals of the same State.

Furthermore, article 10, paragraph 3, of the statute provides that the judges of the Mechanism are to be elected for a term of four years and are to be eligible for reappointment by the Secretary-General after consultation with the Presidents of the Security Council and of the General Assembly. By its resolution 2269 (2016), adopted on 29 February 2016, the Council decided that, notwithstanding that provision, the judges might be appointed or reappointed for a two-year term.

Pursuant to article 9, paragraph 1, of the statute, the judges are to be persons of high moral character, impartiality and integrity who possess the qualifications required in their respective countries for appointment to the highest judicial offices. Particular account is to be taken of experience as judges of the International Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia or the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda.

The Office of Legal Affairs has consulted the 25 judges of the Mechanism to ascertain their interest in and availability for reappointment. All the judges have confirmed their interest and availability.

Therefore, I intend to reappoint the 25 judges of the Mechanism, who are listed in the annex to the present letter, for a term of two years, from 1 July 2024 to 30 June 2026, in line with the upcoming period of operation of the Mechanism.





In accordance with article 10, paragraph 3, of the statute, I look forward to receiving your views on the proposed reappointment of the judges.

Concerning the President of the Mechanism, article 11, paragraph 1, of the statute provides that, after consultation with the President of the Council and the judges of the Mechanism, the Secretary-General is to appoint a full-time President from among the judges of the Mechanism. The Statute, resolution 1966 (2010) and subsequent resolutions are silent on the length of the term of office of the President.

Having consulted the judges of the Mechanism, I intend to reappoint Judge Graciela S. Gatti Santana (Uruguay) as President for a new term of office from 1 July 2024 to 30 June 2026. Since assuming the position of President in July 2022, Judge Gatti Santana has led the institution very effectively.

I look forward to receiving your views on the proposed reappointment of Judge Gatti Santana, in accordance with article 11, paragraph 1, of the statute.

Regarding the Prosecutor, article 14, paragraph 4, of the statute provides that the Prosecutor is to be appointed by the Security Council on nomination by the Secretary-General. The Prosecutor is to be of high moral character and possess the highest level of competence and experience in the conduct of investigations and prosecutions of criminal cases. The Prosecutor is to serve for a four-year term and is to be eligible for reappointment. By its resolution 2269 (2016), the Council decided that, notwithstanding article 14, paragraph 4, of the statute, the Prosecutor might be appointed or reappointed for a two-year term.

I hereby nominate Serge Brammertz (Belgium) for reappointment as Prosecutor of the Mechanism for a new two-year term, from 1 July 2024 to 30 June 2026, pursuant to article 14, paragraph 4, of the statute.

I should be grateful if you would bring this matter to the attention of the members of the Security Council.

(Signed) António Guterres

## Annex

## Candidates for reappointment as judges of the International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals

- Mr. Carmel A. Agius (Malta)
- Mr. Yusuf Aksar (Türkiye)
- Mr. René José Andriatianarivelo (Madagascar)
- Mr. Jean-Claude Antonetti (France)
- Ms. Florence Rita Arrey (Cameroon)
- Mr. Iain Bonomy (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)
- Mr. Mustapha El Baaj (Morocco)
- Ms. Graciela Susana Gatti Santana (Uruguay)
- Ms. Margaret deGuzman (United States of America)
- Mr. Burton Hall (Bahamas)
- Ms. Claudia Hoefer (Germany)
- Mr. Vagn Joensen (Denmark)
- Mr. Liu Daqun (China)
- Mr. Joseph E. Chiondo Masanche (United Republic of Tanzania)
- Ms. Lydia Mugambe (Uganda)
- Mr. Lee Gacuiga Muthoga (Kenya)
- Ms. Aminatta Lois Runeni N'gum (Zimbabwe/Gambia)
- Ms. Prisca Matimba Nyambe (Zambia)
- Mr. Alphonsus Martinus Maria Orie (Kingdom of the Netherlands)
- Mr. Seymour Panton (Jamaica)
- Mr. Seon Ki Park (Republic of Korea)
- Mr. José Ricardo de Prada Solaesa (Spain)
- Mr. Ivo Nelson de Caires Batista Rosa (Portugal)
- Ms. Fatimata Sanou Touré (Burkina Faso)
- Mr. William H. Sekule (United Republic of Tanzania)