

Distr.: Limited 1 May 2024

Original: English

Committee on Information Forty-sixth session New York, 29 April–10 May 2024 Agenda item 10 Consideration and adoption of the report of the Committee to the General Assembly at its seventy-ninth session

Draft report

Rapporteur: Ms. Liliana Verónica Baños Müller (El Salvador)

Chapter I

Introduction

1. In its resolution 34/182, the General Assembly decided to maintain the Committee to Review United Nations Public Information Policies and Activities, established by its resolution 33/115 C, which would henceforth be known as the Committee on Information, and to increase its membership from 41 to 66. In section I, paragraph 2, of resolution 34/182, the Assembly requested the Committee:

(a) To continue to examine United Nations public information policies and activities, in the light of the evolution of international relations, particularly during the previous two decades, and of the imperatives of the establishment of the new international economic order and of a new world information and communication order;

(b) To evaluate and follow up the efforts made and the progress achieved by the United Nations system in the field of information and communications;

(c) To promote the establishment of a new, more just and more effective world information and communication order intended to strengthen peace and international understanding and based on the free circulation and wider and better balanced dissemination of information and to make recommendations thereon to the General Assembly.

2. The Assembly also requested the Committee and the Secretary-General to report to it at its thirty-fifth session.

3. The General Assembly, from its thirty-sixth to seventy-seventh sessions, took note of the reports of the Committee and adopted resolutions by consensus. At its seventy-eighth session, the Assembly took note of the report of the Committee and adopted by consensus resolutions 78/80 A and B.





4. Currently, the Committee is composited	sed of the following Member States:
Algeria	Egypt
Angola	El Salvador
Antigua and Barbuda	Estonia
Argentina	Ethiopia
Armenia	Finland
Austria	France
Azerbaijan	Gabon
Bangladesh	Georgia
Belarus	Germany
Belgium	Ghana
Belize	Greece
Benin	Guatemala
Bolivia (Plurinational State of)	Guinea
Brazil	Guyana
Bulgaria	Haiti
Burkina Faso	Honduras
Burundi	Hungary
Cabo Verde	Iceland
Chile	India
China	Indonesia
Colombia	Iran (Islamic Republic of)
Congo	Iraq
Costa Rica	Ireland
Côte d'Ivoire	Israel
Croatia	Italy
Cuba	Jamaica
Cyprus	Japan
Czechia	Jordan
Democratic People's Republic of Korea	Kazakhstan
Democratic Republic of the Congo	Kenya
Denmark	Latvia
Djibouti	Lebanon
Dominican Republic	Liberia
Ecuador	Libya

4. Currently, the Committee is composed of the following Member States:

Luxembourg	Sierra Leone
Madagascar	Singapore
Malaysia	Slovakia
Malta	Solomon Islands
Mexico	Somalia
Monaco	South Africa
Mongolia	Spain
Morocco	Sri Lanka
Mozambique	Sudan
Nepal	Suriname
Netherlands (Kingdom of the)	Switzerland
Niger	Syrian Arab Republic
Nigeria	Thailand
Oman	Тодо
Pakistan	Trinidad and Tobago
Paraguay	Tunisia
Peru	Türkiye
Philippines	Uganda
Poland	Ukraine
Portugal	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Qatar	United Republic of Tanzania
Republic of Korea	United States of America
Republic of Moldova	Uruguay
Romania	Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)
Russian Federation	Viet Nam
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines	Yemen
Saudi Arabia	Zambia
Senegal	Zimbabwe