United Nations A/78/98-S/2023/446



Distr.: General 7 July 2023

Original: English

General Assembly
Seventy-eighth session
Item 115 (c) of the provisional agenda*
Elections to fill vacancies in principal organs: election of members of the International Court of Justice

Security Council Seventy-eighth year

Election of members of the International Court of Justice: list of nominations by national groups

Note by the Secretary-General

1. By a communication dated 2 February 2023 addressed on behalf of the Secretary-General to the national groups of the States parties to the Statute of the International Court of Justice, attention was drawn to the fact that the terms of office of the following five members of the Court will expire on 5 February 2024:

Judge Joan E. Donoghue (United States of America); Judge Kirill Gevorgian (Russian Federation);

Judge Mohamed Bennouna (Morocco);

Judge Patrick Lipton Robinson (Jamaica);

Judge Hilary Charlesworth (Australia).

- 2. In conformity with Articles 4 and 13 of the Statute of the Court, the General Assembly and the Security Council, during the seventy-eighth session of the Assembly, will elect five judges for a period of nine years, beginning on 6 February 2024. In accordance with Article 5, paragraph 1, of the Statute of the Court, national groups were thus invited to undertake the nomination of persons in a position to accept the duties of a member of the Court and to submit such nominations to the Secretary-General no later than 29 June 2023.
- 3. In accordance with Article 7 of the Statute of the Court, the Secretary-General has the honour to submit to the General Assembly and to the Security Council a list in alphabetical order of all the persons thus nominated (see annex).
- 4. The composition of the Court and the voting procedure to be followed in the General Assembly and in the Security Council are set out in a memorandum by the Secretary-General (A/78/97-S/2023/445). The curricula vitae of the candidates appear in document A/78/99-S/2023/447.

^{*} A/78/150.





Annex

List of candidates nominated by national groups

Name and nationality	Nominated by the national group of
Aurescu, Bogdan-Lucian (Romania)	Bulgaria Estonia Italy Latvia Netherlands (Kingdom of the) Peru Poland Portugal Romania Sweden
Beyani, Chaloka (Zambia)	Netherlands (Kingdom of the) Zambia
Charlesworth, Hilary (Australia)	Argentina Australia Austria Bangladesh Brazil Canada China Colombia Denmark Finland France Germany Guatemala India Ireland Italy Japan Latvia Luxembourg Malta Mexico Netherlands (Kingdom of the) New Zealand Norway Peru Poland Republic of Korea Romania

2/4 23-13267

Name and nationality	Nominated by the national group of
	Singapore
	Slovenia
	Sweden
	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
	United States of America
Cleveland, Sarah Hull	Argentina
(United States of America)	Australia
	Austria
	Bahrain
	Bangladesh
	Brazil
	Bulgaria
	Cambodia
	Canada
	Chile
	China
	Colombia
	Czechia
	Denmark
	Dominican Republic
	Estonia
	Finland
	France
	Georgia
	Germany
	Guatemala
	Hungary
	India
	Ireland
	Italy
	Japan
	Jordan
	Latvia
	Luxembourg
	Malaysia
	Malta
	Mexico
	Morocco
	Netherlands (Kingdom of the)
	New Zealand
	Norway Peru
	Poland
	Portugal
	Portugal

23-13267

Name and nationality	Nominated by the national group of
	Republic of Korea Romania Sierra Leone Singapore Slovenia Somalia Sweden United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland United States of America
Fathalla, Ahmed Amin (Egypt)	Egypt
Gevorgian, Kirill (Russian Federation)	Belarus China Russian Federation
Gómez Robledo Verduzco, Juan Manuel (Mexico)	Australia Brazil Colombia Denmark Finland France Guatemala Mexico Norway Portugal Spain Sweden United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland United States of America
Mindua, Antoine Kesia-Mbe (Democratic Republic of the Congo)	China Democratic Republic of the Congo
Tladi, Dire (South Africa)	Brazil Finland Latvia Mexico Portugal Sierra Leone South Africa

4/4 23-13267