

UNITED NATIONS

GENERAL ASSEMBLY



Distr. GENERAL

A/34/265 11 June 1979

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Thirty-fourth session
Item 17 (e) of the preliminary list*

APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN SUBSIDIARY ORGANS

Appointment of three members of the United Nations Administrative Tribunal

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. Article 3, paragraphs 1 and 2, of the statute of the United Nations Administrative Tribunal (General Assembly resolution 351 A (IV) of 24 November 1949) provides as follows:
 - "1. The Tribunal shall be composed of seven members, no two of whom may be nationals of the same State. Only three shall sit in any particular case.
 - "2. The members shall be appointed by the General Assembly for three years, and they may be reappointed; provided, however, that of the members initially appointed, the terms of two members shall expire at the end of one year and the terms of two members shall expire at the end of two years. A member appointed to replace a member whose term of office has not expired shall hold office for the remainder of his predecessor's term."
- 2. The present composition of the Tribunal is the following:
 - Mrs. Paul Bastid (France)*
 - Mr. Francisco Forteza (Uruguay)***
 - Mr. Mutuale Tshikankie (Zaire)*
 - Mr. Francis T. P. Plimpton (United States of America)**
 - Sir Roger Bentham Stevens (United KIngdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)**

^{*} A/34/50.

Mr. Endre Ustor (Hungary) ***

Mr. R. Venkataraman (India)*

- 3. Since the terms of office of Mrs. Bastid, Mr. Tshikankie and Mr. Venkataraman will expire on 31 December 1979, it will be necessary for the General Assembly at its thirty-fourth session to appoint three persons to fill the resulting vacancies. The persons so appointed will serve for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 1980.
- 4. At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee submitted to the General Assembly a draft decision containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the thirty-fourth session.

^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 1979.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 1980.

^{***} Term of office expires •n 31 December 1981.